The Essential Fly Reviews

4.86 Rating 1,741 Reviews
98 %
of reviewers recommend The Essential Fly
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
Average Delivery Time
Next Day
On-time Delivery
95%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
96%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Read The Essential Fly Reviews

About The Essential Fly:

Specialists in Fly Fishing with salmon, trout flies, and flies for lots of other species. We sell Fly Fishing Tackle and gear and a huge range of Fly Tying Materials and Tools - The Essential Fly is a leading supplier of gear for fly fishermen, rainbow & brown trout flies, salmon flies and flies for every species from our massive selection. Fly tying materials and tools to satisfy every fly tyers needs. With tackle from Greys to Wychwood, from fly rods to waders, luggage and all of the accessories you will need.

We have won awards for customer service and believe in value and quality. Check our reviews from thousands of customers all around the world. Having delivered to over 50 countries from homes to fishing lodges for that last minute requirement.

Visit Website

Phone:

01757333003

Email:

directors@theessentialfly.com

Location:

Rowan Lodge35B Bondgate

Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Very efficient ordering service good quality flies and a real person on hand to talk to if you want to change your order before it has been shipped.
Keep up the good work.
Posted 2 months ago
A friendly family company who provide a prompt and professional service
covering a wide range of anglers' requirements. They are always pleased to spend time discussing customers' queries to ensure that even their smallest orders are efficiently met.
Posted 2 months ago
A little disappointed I'm afraid. It took four days for the order to be completed and a further four days for it to arrive.

I realise we are living in strange times, but other fly tying orders I have placed with other companies have arrived in half the time.
Posted 2 months ago
We are sorry to hear you are disappointed. We would like to take this opportunity to explain and hopefully reassure you.
Three of the items you ordered were in stock and available for immediate dispatch. However the three packs of hooks you ordered were special order items. This means we order them in especially for you from the manufacturer or distributor. We carry very large stocks of products but for some items, we order them in especially. During the pandemic, hooks have been in very short supply but we were pleased that we were able to get these in for you.
Our site does show against each item whether it is an in stock item or a special order and this is shown again for clarification in the check out.
Even with your SPO items, your order was dispatched within 3 working days using a first class Royal Mail tracked service.
Royal Mail are dealing with huge volumes of deliveries during the crisis and its unfortunate that some deliveries are taking longer to arrive than normal just now.
If ever there is anything we can help you with or if you would like to check on stock availability please do not hesitate to get in touch with us directly. We are always happy to help.
We sincerely hope you are enjoying your tying materials.
With kind regards
Team TEF
Posted 2 months ago
After an initial telephone conversation with Sarah, where her knowledge & advice were invaluable, the items were delivered to me the following day & this during the Corona Virus lockdown period! A fantastic service. Well done. Phil N.
Posted 3 months ago
Smooth seamless and consistent efficiency πŸ‘πŸ»
Posted 3 months ago
Excellent prompt service backed by friendly helpful staff
Posted 3 months ago
With an excellent range of products and materials and a speedy and reliable service the Essential Fly team have become my first choice when buying quality fly-tying gear.
Posted 3 months ago
Good Afternoon Gentlemen,

I have yet to receive the satchel I ordered back on the 24th of April (#PO100877).
I will gladly respond to your feedback request following it's arrival.

Thank you,
Cole E Theander
Posted 3 months ago
Hello Mr Theander. Your special order satchel was dispatched from us on 29th April on a first class airmail service to you in the States using a tracked service. I hope you have seen the tracking number in your account (if you need this please get in touch directly so we can privately share this with you - customerservices@theessentialfly.com).
We are aware that deliveries are taking longer than normal to arrive unfortunately due to the very high volumes but we sincerely hope it will be with you very soon.
If you need any further help, our customer services team on the above email address will be happy to help you.
Thank you
Team TEF
Posted 3 months ago
Lockdown has had me at the tying bench more often, sometimes without what I need. On a friends recommendation I called the shop and the lovely Ann was very helpful indeed with everything delivered as promised. Don’t feel a need to try anywhere else now, I think I have found my favourite distributor of all things fly tying at last. 🎣🎣🎣🎣. Take care
Posted 3 months ago
Wow thank you so very much for your very kind feedback. This means so much to us. Thank you
Posted 3 months ago
Great range of products, reasonably priced and delivered quickly.
Posted 3 months ago
Great service. Fast deliveries.
Posted 3 months ago
Generally very good flies. However I recently ordered some suspender buzzers and was disappointed to find the foam was not the circular ball I am used to, but cut out of a flat piece and roughly shaped. The problem with this is that the foan can act as a propeller, putting multiple twists into the leader. This makes fishing them very frustrating. Suspenders with the ball foam enclosed in mesh do not suffer from this problem.

Gordon
Posted 3 months ago
essential fly is a quality company providing quality products at competitive prices. Their service is excellent and the site provides nuggets of information that lightens the day.
Go to the bestπŸ‘
Posted 3 months ago
first class, great service, fast delivery, good quality, highly recommended
Posted 3 months ago
Some beautifully tied flies that represented good value for money and delivered quickly and efficiently.
Posted 3 months ago
Well over a week and still no order. Maybe the c19 has slowed things down..... not happy
Posted 3 months ago
We are very sorry that your order has not arrived yet. As you are aware it left us on 27th April by Royal Mail international airmail on a tracked service. Unfortunately due to the worldwide crisis mail services are taking longer than normal to arrive in some areas, including international deliveries.

We can see from the tracking number that your order is in Ireland and we sincerely hope it will be with you very soon.
Please feel free to keep in touch with us via customerservices@theessentialfly.com or by phone 00 44 1757 333003 for any queries so we can help you directly.
Thank you
Team TEF
Posted 3 months ago
Great customer services
Posted 3 months ago
Great service with a personal touch. Order arrived promptly with regular updates on status. Cannot fault them.
Posted 3 months ago
As always, order fulfilled and delivered very quickly. Excellent service.
Posted 3 months ago
Good work on fly delivery keeps Hope up
Posted 3 months ago
Thank you for your kind feedback. We appreciate this very much. We are grateful to you for your custom.
If there was anything further we could have done to help you please do let us know.
Thank you
Team TEF
Posted 3 months ago
The Essential Fly is rated 4.86 based on 1,741 reviews