The Essential Fly Reviews

4.8 Rating 2,039 Reviews
97 %
of reviewers recommend The Essential Fly
4.8
Based on 2,039 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 91%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
98%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.9 out of 5
Read The Essential Fly Reviews

About The Essential Fly:

Specialists in Fly Fishing with salmon, trout flies, and flies for lots of other species. We sell Fly Fishing Tackle and gear and a huge range of Fly Tying Materials and Tools - The Essential Fly is a leading supplier of gear for fly fishermen, rainbow & brown trout flies, salmon flies and flies for every species from our massive selection. Fly tying materials and tools to satisfy every fly tyers needs. With tackle from Greys to Wychwood, from fly rods to waders, luggage and all of the accessories you will need.

We have won awards for customer service and believe in value and quality. Check our reviews from thousands of customers all around the world. Having delivered to over 50 countries from homes to fishing lodges for that last minute requirement.

Write Your review

Tell us how The Essential Fly made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Thank you The Essential Fly for all the items I ordered from you and for the prompt delivery to Jersey.Great service. Andrew Parkman
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Great service…
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Perfect books for dry flies in smaller sizes. I really like these hooks, the tape is ideal meaning better hook up rates on takes, recent sized eyes makes attaching to fillet easier.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Order received complete and in good time. A great service that I will definitely use again.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Great selection of excellent quality flies. Very quick delivery. I will be using The Essential Fly again.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Flys are well made cant fault them
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
First class fly tying products with first class service. Sound as a Pound! Many Thanks Best wishes. M.Evans.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
ordered a spool of thread , the package arrived , however , the thread had been removed during transit so no thread in package .contacted the company and sent pics of the package , however no replacement or refund was sent . Was contacted in due course and my issue dealt with very proffesionally .All in all very good service .
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Hello, Following your original order PO133286 which you informed us was received but empty a replacement was issued under PO133418. Following this replacement being sent on the 17/7/23 Royal Mail advised it was delivered on 19/7/23 at 11:06am. Our customer service team were in communication with you about this and after you confirmed that you had not received it we then on the 28/7/23 issued you a £5 voucher to use against a future purchase. Not only did we re-issue your order but provided a voucher when the replacement was advised as not received. As a valued customer since 2010 and this being the first instance of any issue I do hope that you will continue to work with us as we value every customer and will do our best to resolve any issues which arise. Kind regards TEF
Posted 7 months ago
excellent service i will deal again
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Superb customer service, ever helpful. A repeat customer and Essential will continue to be my fav supplier of materials and tools.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
All the flies I have received have been top quality. Love the variety of flies available. Excellent service which is quick and efficient. I am slowly filling my box with flies from Essential Fly.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Fast delivery and good quality products
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
I use Essential regularly. Good quality delivered on time. I don’t need anything else and often recommend Essential
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Cheers Yea very pleased with the standard of your flies It’s just me catching the fish at this end
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Well done essential fly very impressed. Jimbob.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Very good ship
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Great service, quality products and timely deliveries.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
i have always found essential flies products to be top quality and prompt delivery too.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
There is a short wait time, but you get the products you want at a decent price. Great service, thank you.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Ordered 6 small items. On day 9 and 10 after ordering, was refunded for 2 items that were presumably unavailable which I thought was a little bit late notice. Of the 4 items delivered one pack of foam cylinders was the wrong size. E fly normally good, not this time unfortunately.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
The Essential Fly is rated 4.8 based on 2,039 reviews