The Essential Fly Reviews

4.8 Rating 2,098 Reviews
97 %
of reviewers recommend The Essential Fly
4.8
Based on 2,098 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 91%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
98%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.9 out of 5
Read The Essential Fly Reviews

About The Essential Fly:

Specialists in Fly Fishing with salmon, trout flies, and flies for lots of other species. We sell Fly Fishing Tackle and gear and a huge range of Fly Tying Materials and Tools - The Essential Fly is a leading supplier of gear for fly fishermen, rainbow & brown trout flies, salmon flies and flies for every species from our massive selection. Fly tying materials and tools to satisfy every fly tyers needs. With tackle from Greys to Wychwood, from fly rods to waders, luggage and all of the accessories you will need.

We have won awards for customer service and believe in value and quality. Check our reviews from thousands of customers all around the world. Having delivered to over 50 countries from homes to fishing lodges for that last minute requirement.

Write Your review

Tell us how The Essential Fly made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Great service! Thanks from New Zealand!
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Good service but dry fly spray bottle doesn't always work, think I have broken it@
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Well tied flies which catch fish even in my hands.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Great selection of flies - could do with some work on the website which not easiest to navigate looking for specific patterns, but overall great service and would recommend. If a particular fly is not in stock and forms part of an order, they do not dispatch until the order is complete which can cause delays if they are waiting for manufacturer to supply. Sending out part orders would increase (their) costs but can be frustrating if order is urgent.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Great advice and service
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
superb flies caught well on the surface with them recommend these now the daddies are here.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
took the flies out thursday had a great days sport on the surface inching them back takes were solid, . cetainly reccomend these know the daddies are in abundance As usual flies were first class as was the delivery well wrapped,
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Excellent service to New Zealand. Providing a product at great cost and not gouged on shipping. Highly rated
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
I find this company very helpful when I speak to them over the phone. When ordering goods it is usually dispatched the same day and quite often received the next day. Great service,
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Excellent service once again - thank you.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Unfortunately 2 of the items I ordered were out of stock and had to be refunded, To be honest it would be easier if these were updated on site save time and hassle of trying to reorder, Good selection of materials on site but how many in stock???
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
All round good
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Not your usual standard for the Veniard partridge feathers. Too much fluff and not enough barred feathers.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Nicely tied flies thank you
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
I was able to order by phone and collect from their premises,Essential Fly phoned me when my order came into stock.The whole process was handled efficiently and politely.I have not been fishing since I received my waders so I am not able to comment on their performance,but since they are the new model which replaces my vision Ikons I have high hopes (my Ikons have given me 10 years of service).
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Excellent service and products as usual.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Pleased with both the service and the flies
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Good quality flies
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Quality flies and good service
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Thank you The Essential Fly for all the items I ordered from you and for the prompt delivery to Jersey.Great service. Andrew Parkman
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
The Essential Fly is rated 4.8 based on 2,098 reviews