The Essential Fly Reviews

4.87 Rating 1,586 Reviews
98 %
of reviewers recommend The Essential Fly
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
delivery methods
Postal Service
average delivery time
Next Day
on-time delivery
95%
accurate and undamaged orders
96%
Customer Service
communication channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
queries resolved in
Under an hour
Read The Essential Fly Reviews

About The Essential Fly:

Specialists in Fly Fishing with salmon, trout flies, and flies for lots of other species. We sell Fly Fishing Tackle and gear and a huge range of Fly Tying Materials and Tools - The Essential Fly is a leading supplier of gear for fly fishermen, rainbow & brown trout flies, salmon flies and flies for every species from our massive selection. Fly tying materials and tools to satisfy every fly tyers needs. With tackle from Greys to Wychwood, from fly rods to waders, luggage and all of the accessories you will need.

We have won awards for customer service and believe in value and quality. Check our reviews from thousands of customers all around the world. Having delivered to over 50 countries from homes to fishing lodges for that last minute requirement.

Visit Website

Phone:

01757333003

Email:

directors@theessentialfly.com

Location:

Rowan Lodge35B Bondgate

the bottom line is this,you carry products that we don't see in the u.s.and always have things I really like to buy.after 57 years of tying flies,i'm still always saying,this is the last purchase.
3 Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Excellent service. Excellent selection of flytying materials and equipment. Fantastic supply of Semperfli products. Highly recommended for your fishing and flytying needs...
1 Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Excellent friendly service. Rapid delivery. Many thanks
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Great friendly service, quick delivery.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Just like to say that I got my reel and line from santa even though the line I ordered was discontinued but thanks to you guys pulling out all stops it came 2 days before Xmas Delighted with the prompt response and action taken to resolve the issue. Would not hesitate to recommend the essential fly to all my angling friends . Keep up the good work cheers John
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
good products of great quality and price, also quick delivery
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
I was delighted with the service and prompt delivery to Wyoming in the USA. I was hoping that the names of each of these classic wet flies would be included on the display card so that I would know what fly I was using as well as what fly to reorder when needed. Thank you for the excellent products and service.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
a complete novice i asked your young lady to put together a fly bundle to cover a range of opitions which she did with charm and good humour.They were dilivered the next day. the final proof will be when i hand them over as a small present .If you want to know how they were received contact me agai ps i like your feed back format. jvd
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Good quality flies, and like them being barbless as I prefer catch and release.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Service was swift and courteous. The products were very securely packaged and arrived the next day.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Excellent web site/shop, and excellent service/delivery time. Very pleased with the service.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
EXCELLENT SERVICE AS USUAL FLIES ARE ALWAYS OF A HIGH STANDARD GREAT TEAM AT ESSENTIAL FLY KEEP THE GOOD WORK UP.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Excellent quality products & flies….You can be guaranteed to catch the quarry you are hunting with these perfect examples.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Once again Essential Fly have come up trumps by providing first class quality goods and excellent service. Thank you Essential Fly !!! Yours Sincerely Stan Noel
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
I ordered with your simple on line order form, paid, arrived in post very quickly. I used the flies the following day at my regular venue. It was very quiet using my normal patterns, a few follows, couple of tentative takes. Then i thought I would use a new fly 'firedancer' size 10. First cast and a tremendous hit which took my fly and part of hook snood. I retired another on 8lb line, i had 4 rainbows in next 20 minutes, and 3 fish in four casts on a ' firedancer'. Super fly
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
I purchase from The Essential Fly on many occasions. Always prompt & efficient service. Quick delivery and good quality flies. Many good bags as a result. Many thanks. C.A. Glasgow.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
You get quality flies accompanied with a quality service that why I keep going back.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
The Essential Fly website is easy to use and one of the best flyfishing sites on the web ! I had a problem with a spool of thread a couple of years ago and they replaced it straight away with no quibble . Which for me shows integrity and caring about the stuff they sell. Thier "own label" gear is excellent-If you don't believe me check out their Tapered Leaders You will be surprised at the turn over ! I must mention Semper Fli -.It's has one of the best selections of flytying gear around Their threads are the best -I wouldn't split anything else Christy Langton
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Quality goods & service at great prices
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Regarding my last order, I've to tell you that I'm quite desapointed with the quality of the "Barbless Marsden Mohican". They are very efficient and attractive in the water. The problem is the way they're finished around the hook. After a few cast, the shiny part is falling a part. At the moment I've used them about 3 times and the 3 streamers are in the same stage. Hook without the shiny part. That's a pity.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
The Essential Fly is rated 4.87 based on 1,586 reviews