The Essential Fly Reviews

4.87 Rating 1,289 Reviews
98% of reviewers recommend The Essential Fly

About The Essential Fly: Specialists in Fly Fishing with salmon, trout flies, and flies for lots of other species. We sell Fly Fishing Tackle and gear and a huge range of Fly Tying Materials and Tools - The Essential Fly is a leading supplier of gear for fly fishermen, rainbow & brown trout flies, salmon flies and flies for every species from our massive selection. Fly tying materials and tools to satisfy every fly tyers needs. With tackle from Greys to Wychwood, from fly rods to waders, luggage and all of the accessories you will need.

We have won awards for customer service and believe in value and quality. Check our reviews from thousands of customers all around the world. Having delivered to over 50 countries from homes to fishing lodges for that last minute requirement.

Visit Website

Phone:
01757333003

Email:
directors@theessentialfly.com

Location:
Rowan Lodge35B Bondgate

Category:
Sporting Goods

Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions
Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
Postal Service
delivery methods
Next Day
average delivery time
98%
on-time delivery
Greater than 90%
accurate and undamaged orders
Customer Service
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
communication channels
5
Chris Winsor
"Original order did not arrive on time due to address error (my fault) Contacted Andy ,order reissued to my fishing location, arrived as planned, tied one on & caught a 11lb salmon!!!!! SIMPLES!!"
Report
Posted 2 months ago
5
Benoit Albertini
"Very warm welcome, nice staffs, and even speak French in an English Fly tying shop. Lots of materials, everything needed. Good prices and professional staff who knows what they talking about."
Report
Posted 2 months ago
Rowland Elvidge
"Very Good at sorting out queries and the service is also very good. Their fly's are of excellent quality. Just over 5lb on a stalking bug"
Report
Posted 10 months ago
"All the requested items that were available were rapidly delivered and of very high quality. The cost of a single out-of-stock item was refunded immediately. Excellent range of materials for fly tying with great service."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 hour ago
Visit Website
"Prompt service and goods purchased of high quality. Will use again."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
"Service great trying to renew my password for another order failed so i gave up!!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
We are sorry to hear you are having challenges trying to reset your password.
Looking at your account we think we can see what has happened here. You have set up 2 accounts - both the same postal address but with different email addresses. One account has a lot of orders against it and the other just one order. So perhaps there is confusion there for the password reminder?
We will be happy to help you fix this so you can get the products you need as quickly and as easily as possible!
With best wishes
The Essential Fly
Posted 6 hours ago
"I like to buy from this company as they are so friendly to deal with. The service is quick and you are not waiting too long for your order."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
"You were slow, other suppliers get my orders to me much quicker"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
Thank you very much for your order and for your feedback here.
I would like to take this opportunity to respond to your point about our time to deliver.

Your order was placed after we and all our suppliers had closed for Christmas. Our suppliers and ourselves did not open again until 2nd January.

We do carry a large amount of stock but we also offer a special order service for customers. This means we order in special items directly for a customers - back to back with the manufacturer. This just takes a few days. It is also shown on the site and at check out, confirming the length of time it takes for these to come in.

Two out of the three items you ordered were special order items. So as soon as the manufacturer was open again after Christmas and the New Year, these were ordered in immediately for you. There is often a back log with our suppliers after a shut down, but I can assure you that your tying materials were dispatched to you as soon as they come in.

I hope this helps explain the situation regarding your order and if we can be of any help to you at all, or if you would like to check on an order or its status, you are welcome to get in touch at any time.


With kind regards

The Essential Fly
Posted 4 days ago
"Really cool. Thanks for sending me some free cotton. Just right for a novice fly there to practice on. Regards Nathan Thomas Edwards"
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
"I have purchased various flies on line from The Essential Fly over the last two to three seasons and have always found them to be excellent both for value and service."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"Very good service and very malleable staff. I skilfully recommendations company and would not hesitate to contact them again"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Prompt delivery service and easy to purchase flies online. I have recently purchased a variety of fly selection strips for trout and graylin fishing in the uk. They are extremely well tied and look awesome, I will let you know what results I get when I have tested them out over the coming weeks."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Thanks for the phone call to say that one of my items I ordered was not in stock. You offered a item to replace the one that was not in stock, the order has arrived and I am pleased with the items I have received. Once again a great quick service, thanks 👍"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Always deliver promptly and efficiently. A good selection to choose from and helpful guidance and advice on what flys to use when."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Orders are quickly delivered and the flies are tied to the highest quality. Have used several times and will continue to use."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"I am very happy with my order and will get More"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
"Qualité du suivi de la commande et respect des délais de livraison"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
"Very prompt and efficient handling of my order and high quality flies. I would recommend The Essential Fly to anyone."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Have yet to receive my order .Dec 11 shipped.still haven't received order Dec 26 very dissatisfied.trail run ordering material from a new supplier."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hi James,

Your order was shipped from us in the UK on the 11th December via the Royal Mail on a First Class International service. The Royal Mail aim to deliver world wide within 5-7 working days. However there are sometimes unforseen delays and during peak shipping times there are excessive post which can also cause delays.

Due to it being Christmas next week there is a increase is post and this does cause some delays. I have checked the Royal Mail website and their last date for poste to be guaranteed to be delivered before Christmas for the USA was the 8th December
You placed your order at 15:37 GMT on the 8th December this order contained special order items which we ordered in for you hence the delay in shipping, however the order was shipped within our advertised timescale.

I am sure that you will receive your order shortly it may arrive before Christmas or just after. I am sorry that your order has yet to arrive and for any inconvinience this may have caused.

Kind regards
The Essential Fly
Posted 1 month ago
"Excellent and speedy service. Highly recommend The Esential Fly for all your needs"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"The products arrived in perfect condition and quickly to Spain"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Flies promptly delivered. Quality product."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Iimpeccable service and great kindness"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
The Essential Fly is rated 4.87 based on 1,289 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support