The Essential Fly Reviews

4.86 Rating 1,543 Reviews
98 %
of reviewers recommend The Essential Fly
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
delivery methods
Postal Service
average delivery time
Next Day
on-time delivery
95%
accurate and undamaged orders
96%
Customer Service
communication channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
queries resolved in
Under an hour
Read The Essential Fly Reviews

About The Essential Fly:

Specialists in Fly Fishing with salmon, trout flies, and flies for lots of other species. We sell Fly Fishing Tackle and gear and a huge range of Fly Tying Materials and Tools - The Essential Fly is a leading supplier of gear for fly fishermen, rainbow & brown trout flies, salmon flies and flies for every species from our massive selection. Fly tying materials and tools to satisfy every fly tyers needs. With tackle from Greys to Wychwood, from fly rods to waders, luggage and all of the accessories you will need.

We have won awards for customer service and believe in value and quality. Check our reviews from thousands of customers all around the world. Having delivered to over 50 countries from homes to fishing lodges for that last minute requirement.

Visit Website

Phone:

01757333003

Email:

directors@theessentialfly.com

Location:

Rowan Lodge35B Bondgate

First class materials and a first class service. Highly recommended.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
I liked the fact that I was e mailed straight away that my order had been received with a full list of the materials and then was on its way to me and informed by the royal post of the approx time it was to be delivered, all carried out in a short space of time.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Excellent service. Would be 5 stars if, the range of products, was greater. Not that the range is small, as it is but, could be bigger.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
parcel came when i was in Tenerife. Good stuff !.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Customer service is awesome!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Flies arrived in great condition and a fast delivery, a
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Excellent good service
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Item,s came well packaged and on time.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Received flies quickly and tied to a high standard The Essential Fly offer a really good service. Happy customer ✌️
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Great Service and great product knowledge,easy to deal with,that’s why I go back
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Excelente calidad a precios razonables con buenos plazos de envío y entrega de los productos
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Recently received my order from The Essential Fly and once again my order was completed in good time and exactly as ordered. I know that I have gained loyalty points with past orders but I am not sure how I can use these. Perhaps you could update accounts and make it a little easier to use any accumulated points. I am very pleased with the service you supply. One other question, how will brexir affect my orders in future. Thank You. Martin Ryan.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your kind feedback. With regards to your loyalty points you can learn how these are earned and redeemed via this link https://www.theessentialfly.com/faq_loyaltypoints.html
To see your points, if you login to your account and click order information, you can see how many points you have and their value.
Once you have saved up enough loyalty points, you will automatically be offered the choice to spend them at check out via a tick box.
With regards to Brexit nothing will change. We will continue to export as we do now. We are experienced at shipping goods worldwide as we currently send orders to over 50 countries.
If we can be of any help to you at any time please do not hesitate to get in touch.
With best wishes
Team TEF
Posted 2 weeks ago
Ordered fly tying starter pack and it arrived promptly in good condition
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Good prompt service
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
The flys I ordered were spot on and I tried to find elsewear first delivery was very quick and the website is really useful and easy to navigate around will be ordering again thank you the essential fly again
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
I've used Essential Fly for quite a few years, I have found their flies to be consistently good and true to their advertised patterns. Combining fly quality with their excellent deliver service, I am always happy to use them. My recent order was no exception. I would however prefer to see more barbless flies in their catalogue.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
I am generally satisfied with the Essential Fly however I have had occasion recently to complain of their bad discount practice which does little to help a loyal customer. You will penalise yourselves as I will think twice before I buy from you again. There are other suppliers who deserve patronage, as well as you!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
We are sorry to hear that you are not satisfied on this occasion Mr Whiter. We have looked into this and would like to clarify the situation from here. From time to time we put out offers. Our offers will change through the year as we like to provide our customers with the very best deals and a variety of styles of offers to suit different people or seasons. However we do typically communicate our offers on email to let people know about them initially, then a reminder and then a notice when they are due to end. This we feel gives everyone an opportunity to take advantage, or not, as as they see fit. You will have seen this no doubt on our most recent offer for the registered customer discount code I hope.
I believe you may be referring to our clearance offer where, as part of this, our leaders were reduced in price? This offer started just after Christmas as January sale offer. Having emailed about the sale initially, as the offer progressed, we emailed out to all customers on 9th and 13th January to advise them not to miss out on these deals.
I understand you placed your order the day after the sale ended.
May I point out that when you placed your order, we did not have a free shipping offer on too, it was just the discount on the products. The value of the discount you would have received was £4.31. When you placed your order, you were able to take advantage of free shipping which meant you did not have to pay £3.99. So the impact of this matter is a difference of 32p.
We are aware that you spoke with our customer services team about this and they discussed this with you. They tell us that you said you were happy that you had received a discount of some sort and with just a 32p difference overall.
We would be more than happy to discuss this with you further and do all we can to help. We genuinely want to do our best for you and provide you with the best service and products for your fly fishing.
With very best wishes
Team TEF
Posted 2 weeks ago
Robust and good looking flies, even in the smallest sizes, at excellent prices. Well packaged and delivered speedily.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Well. Tryed flys. Quick delivery
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
A little disappointing this time around. Admin problems aside, I found that I had to ring to establish the reason for the delay in my order. I was initially told about the admin issues, then that they were awaiting a stock delivery to complete my order [which had just arrived] and when my order did finally arrive the said item was not included and they apologised and said they would have to issue a refund.. Then I had to ring to chase up the refund and lastly it was a small order and it arrived in a large JIFFY envelope. I was charged the princely sum of £4.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
We are very sorry to hear that you are disappointed. Unfortunately on this occasion we were impacted by a power outage which created a system error. Our entire street had the power turned off for many hours due to an emergency that day. This created delays and challenges for us which meant our usual service levels were not as we would like. Whilst we appreciate this is not what you want to hear, we did our best to catch up on all matters as quickly as we could. We hope this will not deter you from shopping with us again as we would very much like to demonstrate our normal service to you. If there is ever anything we can help you with, please do not hesitate to get in touch.
With best wishes
Team TEF
Posted 3 weeks ago
The Essential Fly is rated 4.86 based on 1,543 reviews