The Essential Fly Reviews

4.86 Rating 1,461 Reviews
98 %
of reviewers recommend The Essential Fly
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
delivery methods
Postal Service
average delivery time
Next Day
on-time delivery
Greater than 93%
accurate and undamaged orders
96%
Customer Service
communication channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
queries resolved in
Under an hour
Read The Essential Fly Reviews

About The Essential Fly:

Specialists in Fly Fishing with salmon, trout flies, and flies for lots of other species. We sell Fly Fishing Tackle and gear and a huge range of Fly Tying Materials and Tools - The Essential Fly is a leading supplier of gear for fly fishermen, rainbow & brown trout flies, salmon flies and flies for every species from our massive selection. Fly tying materials and tools to satisfy every fly tyers needs. With tackle from Greys to Wychwood, from fly rods to waders, luggage and all of the accessories you will need.

We have won awards for customer service and believe in value and quality. Check our reviews from thousands of customers all around the world. Having delivered to over 50 countries from homes to fishing lodges for that last minute requirement.

Visit Website

Phone:

01757333003

Email:

directors@theessentialfly.com

Location:

Rowan Lodge35B Bondgate

Excellent range and products and, so far, impeccable customer service.
Helpful Report
Posted 14 hours ago
The service from Essential was as usual excellent and speedy and so I was able to continue my fly tying, seamlessly.
Helpful Report
Posted 15 hours ago
Fast delivery and fair pricing, can't ask for better.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
Things did not start well when my order arrived with one set of flies missing. I am pleased to say that the team at Essential Fly resolved the problem and soon forwarded the missing flies. All's well that ends well! Flies that catch trout (as well as anglers), great supporting information and a good service. I would have awarded five stars had part of the original order not been missing. A satisfied customer.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
As usual, service, quality and choice excellent
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
Good fly selection and good value. Very prompt delivery. Thanks.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
Super service. Everything worked very very!
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
first class products that are usually in stock, not like another supplier who is always out of things, so well done Essential fly, only slight improvment that you may be able to make is a bit quicker dispatch.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
EF were, on this occaision let down by the Post Office. From a good start, things degenerated and the delivery went from "sign for" to "leave in porch", and visited two sorting offices in Leicester. The envelope arrived 7 days after posting, despite advised arrival dates. Not Essentialfly's usual standard!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
We are very sorry that your order arrived late. We did indeed dispatch your order next day and sent it via Royal Mail tracked service. Unfortunately, according to the Royal Mail system, it was sent to the wrong sorting office and then took time to get to you. Royal Mail has let us both down here and we apologise to you for any inconvenience caused. Unfortunately this situation has been completely out of our hands. We will be taking this up with Royal Mail on your behalf. We sincerely hope this will not deter you from shopping with us again.
With kind regards
Team TEF
Posted 6 days ago
Excellent service, all the staff were very helpful, I can thoroughly recommend them.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Ordered a few times from this company. First class service and decent prices. Recommended
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Speedy, helpful service. Website is a trove of useful info, techniques etc as well as being a well-stocked shop.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
This is my second time buying the Spool Rack ans as alway very quick delivery
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Excellent products and service.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
My last order still has not arrived.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
We are genuinely sorry to hear there was a delay in you receiving your parcel. It left us in a timely fashion after you having placed your order. We sent it first class Royal Mail on a tracked service (which we hope you received email notification about). We can see it has now arrived. We do apologise for any inconvenience. We have taken this up with Royal Mail to complain as it should have been with you next day from dispatch.
We would like to reassure you that this is not normal practice and we hope it does not deter you from shopping with us again.
With kind regards
Team TEF
Posted 2 weeks ago
i live in Belgium and had no problems i had to wait a little for my order however the info for it whas good so no complaints
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Great flies
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Prompt delivery within a couple of days of placing my on line order.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Fantastic flies and cracking service. Top 5 supplier in the country. Keep it up!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
I ordered an item which was quoted as having to be ordered from supplier and given a delivery date. The item was actually delivered a week before it's due date, very typical first class service as always from Essential Fly, keep up the good work guys!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
The Essential Fly is rated 4.86 based on 1,461 reviews