The Essential Fly Reviews

4.86 Rating 1,098 Reviews
98% of reviewers recommend The Essential Fly

About The Essential Fly: Specialists in Fly Fishing with salmon, trout flies, and flies for lots of other species. We sell Fly Fishing Tackle and gear and a huge range of Fly Tying Materials and Tools - The Essential Fly is a leading supplier of gear for fly fishermen, rainbow & brown trout flies, salmon flies and flies for every species from our massive selection. Fly tying materials and tools to satisfy every fly tyers needs. With tackle from Greys to Wychwood, from fly rods to waders, luggage and all of the accessories you will need.

We have won awards for customer service and believe in value and quality. Check our reviews from thousands of customers all around the world. Having delivered to over 50 countries from homes to fishing lodges for that last minute requirement.

Visit Website

Phone:
01757333003

Email:
directors@theessentialfly.com

Location:
Rowan Lodge35B Bondgate

Category:
Sporting Goods

Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions
"I bought these flies for my husband and he's delighted with them. He's new to nymph fishing and has had success with them already!"
Helpful Report
Posted 19 hours ago
Visit Website
Ben Jenkinson
Verified Buyer
"The Essential Fly team are on hand to help with everything from what you need and what you probably don't, time for tea and tuition. Great materials at great prices. Definitely going to be a regular haunt!"
Helpful Report
Posted 22 hours ago
Simon J Roberton
Verified Buyer
"As usual, fast efficient service at a great price."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
Malcolm Blackshaw
Verified Buyer
"I don’t normally write reviews but I did query this order that it was green in colour by description and picture and it was yellow,when it arrived, not what I wanted, and as boss man said he would phone back and never did. Regards one not happy customer not to order again. Malcolmblackshaw"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
We are genuinely sorry that you are not happy with the follow up to your order query. It took us a while to fully investigate the nature of your query and have been in touch via email on two occasions to confirm our findings - we liaised with the manufacturer on this for you along with checking our stocks of course. I hope you have received these emails.
By way of clarification, the packaging of your item has been changed by the manufacturer (something of which we have no control as a regular dealer for them) but the name of the product has stayed the same. The product whilst called optic green does appear a yellowy green on the line itself. Unfortunately we cannot control the technical details on products supplied by another manufacturer. However if at any time you are unhappy with a product, you are welcome to return it to us for a refund, credit or exchange of course.
We do pride ourselves on our customer service and hope this will not deter you from shopping with us again as we do our best to provide a wide range of goods for the fly angler.
With kind regards
Customer Services.
Posted 17 hours ago
Edward Impey
Verified Buyer
"My order was dealt with quickly and I was kept informed of progress when one item was a special order. I had made a mistake on my order and it took a short friendly and very helpful call to sort it out. My order arrived in a timely manner as agreed. The order which contained about 40 individual pieces including flies, rod, lines, leaders etc, was completely accurate and on time. An OTIF of 100% for those who know what I mean! All in all, I received a thoughtful, helpful and professional service from start to finish and I would not hesitate to recommend this company to anyone."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
John Philip Holbrook
Verified Buyer
"Very quick responce"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
Alexander Knox
Verified Buyer
"I have used essential fly several times now and have found their service to be excellent and quality of goods supplied are to a very high standard. Totally happy with recommending them to anyone contemplating using them."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
Philip Case
Verified Buyer
"Always good value and prompt despatch."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Matthieu Langevin
Verified Buyer
"service was ok, i just think you should try to be more flexible, i sent an order and i had forgotten something so i placed another order, i sent an email requesting both orders be send as one package but they told me that was not possible even though they were not shipped out yet, also i wasn't given a tracking number, its been a while since i placed my order and i still havnt recieved it, it would be nice to know when its comming, i odered these material to tie some flies before a trip and im afraid i might not get them in time"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Hello and thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you feel we have not been flexible as we genuinely want to do our best for our customers.
We have looked into your query. We can see that you placed 2 orders, 4 days apart. They contained special order items that we were bringing in for you. As you will be aware, special order items take a little longer whilst we await delivery of them from the supplier - as shown on the site and at your check out.
Your orders were shipped out to you as soon as the supplier items came in but because your orders were placed a few days apart that is why they were dispatched separately.
They have been sent by first class airmail and we hope they will be with you very soon.
Thank you
Customer services.
Posted 1 week ago
Dominique Seguier
Verified Buyer
"Prompt shipping, good quality, fair prices. What else ?"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
David Edis
Verified Buyer
"Good quick & courteous service. Always possible to speak to them on the phone. Good website & usually have what I want"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Ian Barrow
Verified Buyer
"fair pricing and prompt delivery"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Dave Macneil
Verified Buyer
"Good quality products at competitive prices. Prompt international delivery."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Chris Miller
Verified Buyer
"First class service, arrived promptly and at the best price I could find. Steve"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Marek Modlinski
Verified Buyer
"Fast delivery, nice packaging, everything intact. The addition of a couple of free flies was very welcome as well."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
David Marsh
Verified Buyer
"THIS WAS MY FIRST ON LINE PURCHASE WITH THE ESSENTIAL FLY AND ALTHOUGH NONE OF THE ITEMS WAS SHOWN IN STOCK WHEN I PLACED MY ORDER IT DID SAY ON THEIR SITE IT COULD TAKE 4-7 DAYS FROM THE SUPPPLIER. I AM PLEASED TO SAY I RECEIVED MY ODER WITHIN 6 DAYS COMPLETE AND IN GOOD ORDER. THANK YOU."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Alistair Macfarlane
Verified Buyer
"VERY COURTEOUS AND HELPFUL"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"The service was good and the hooks are just what I was looking for. Light, but good strength, good holding power. The hooks could do with larger eyes from 20 onwards just for us old uns Tight lines"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Jens Petersen
Verified Buyer
"After wrong picking of item's first time,they send me the right item's second time,whiteout Any extra cost's for me"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Stephen Cunningham
Verified Buyer
"Very prompt delivery my items are exactly as ordered and seen flies are exspertly made over very pleased and would highly recommend thank you"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
The Essential Fly is rated 4.86 based on 1,098 reviews