The Essential Fly Reviews

4.86 Rating 1,741 Reviews
98 %
of reviewers recommend The Essential Fly
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
Average Delivery Time
Next Day
On-time Delivery
95%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
96%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Read The Essential Fly Reviews

About The Essential Fly:

Specialists in Fly Fishing with salmon, trout flies, and flies for lots of other species. We sell Fly Fishing Tackle and gear and a huge range of Fly Tying Materials and Tools - The Essential Fly is a leading supplier of gear for fly fishermen, rainbow & brown trout flies, salmon flies and flies for every species from our massive selection. Fly tying materials and tools to satisfy every fly tyers needs. With tackle from Greys to Wychwood, from fly rods to waders, luggage and all of the accessories you will need.

We have won awards for customer service and believe in value and quality. Check our reviews from thousands of customers all around the world. Having delivered to over 50 countries from homes to fishing lodges for that last minute requirement.

Visit Website

Phone:

01757333003

Email:

directors@theessentialfly.com

Location:

Rowan Lodge35B Bondgate

Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Notified yesterday arrived today fantastic service as is the norm
Posted 1 month ago
excellent service s always. No real delay to Ireland in spite of Covid 19
Posted 1 month ago
Excellent service fast delivery purchased some small size 18 flies which are difficult to find very good quality this is one of best mail order company's I've used
Posted 1 month ago
Order took longer than normal to fulfil and one item not available but purchased from another supplier.
Posted 1 month ago
Very helpful advice on getting the basics for a first time fly fisher. Andy put together a basket of gear after a phone consult. Very happy with the quality and price and customer service. Would definitely use again and recommend to others.
Posted 1 month ago
Good quick service in the current situation flies were larger than anticipated but hook sizes do vary.
Will give them another try in the future.
Posted 1 month ago
Fast delivery caught my first rainbow trout on cdc emerger hope rest of my fly Collection catch me plenty more fish happy days Charlie
Posted 1 month ago
Very well tied flies and a speedy delivery service. Highly recommended.
Posted 1 month ago
I have always been impressed by The Essential Fly's service and speed of delivery. Sadly, not this time. Not once, but twice, my order of two 50m spools of 3.5lb 6X Fluorocarbon tippet material (not cheap) was confused. First with 6lb (instead of 6X), and then with 4.5lb BS. I have kept both (mistakes), rather than compounding the error. Attention to detail in this trade is key......
Posted 1 month ago
Excellent service for delivery and price. One of the items I ordered was the Mustad snap hooks and have the following comments. The hooks were easy to tie on however because of the fine tippet material it was easy for the hook to come off because of the gap at the ring. In addition I found it difficult to attach a fly or to remove it afterwards. There was a serious risk of getting a fly hook embedded in your fingers. It may get better with practice but at this moment in time I cannot recommend the snap hooks without a word of caution.
Posted 1 month ago
Excellent service and great products.
Posted 1 month ago
Excellent in every way-loved the fact that all flies were sent individually identified!
Posted 1 month ago
Excellent products. Helpful and knowledgeable staff. Website a little clunky
Posted 1 month ago
Excellent service and fast delivery quality gear would highly recommend
Posted 2 months ago
A first class service with excellent fly fishing products
Posted 2 months ago
Unfortunately the flies I ordered arrived a day after a fishing trip I organised but I must say the flies are of high quality and will definitely order from the essential fly in the future
Posted 2 months ago
Disappointed ist not the service of your own organisation but the art of delivery. You chose the DHL Express, that disappointed me for the second time. On the agreed day I was at home all the time but they never called me. Instead they urged me to visit their office to pick it up. Do not deliver me anything through DHL Express!
Posted 2 months ago
We thank you for your recent order Mr Kamizuru. We are sorry that you are disappointed with DHL's courier service.

We ship worldwide every day and to be honest DHL normally provide an excellent service. Unfortunately here it appears that a local office has provided a less that satisfactory service. Unfortunately this is out of our control. As mentioned to you on email, we can use the Royal Mail service as an alternative. However for the large item you ordered, Royal Mail cannot accept this as it is too large for them. Equally the mail service can take a lot longer than an express courier service - especially at this time when mail services are swamped and parcels are taking much longer than normal to arrive.
However we do hope you are enjoying your purchase and for any future purchases you may wish to make, please do check in with us for any assistance via customerservices@theessentialfly.com.
Thank you
Team TEF
Posted 2 months ago
Top quality service and goods there are many suppliers out there For fly fishing items but I now only use Essential Fly As service is so quick and five star.
Posted 2 months ago
Very helpful, friendly, and professional advice, really quick Dali very. Cheers 😃
Posted 2 months ago
Recently made a purchase of flys and was delighted with the product and service making an order was made easy and simply and flys were very well made best I’ve seen in ages order was at my door in a week over sea so was well pleased will definitely do business again all the best tomas (Ireland).
Posted 2 months ago
The Essential Fly is rated 4.86 based on 1,741 reviews