The Essential Fly Reviews

4.86 Rating 1,688 Reviews
98 %
of reviewers recommend The Essential Fly
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
Average Delivery Time
Next Day
On-time Delivery
95%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
96%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Read The Essential Fly Reviews

About The Essential Fly:

Specialists in Fly Fishing with salmon, trout flies, and flies for lots of other species. We sell Fly Fishing Tackle and gear and a huge range of Fly Tying Materials and Tools - The Essential Fly is a leading supplier of gear for fly fishermen, rainbow & brown trout flies, salmon flies and flies for every species from our massive selection. Fly tying materials and tools to satisfy every fly tyers needs. With tackle from Greys to Wychwood, from fly rods to waders, luggage and all of the accessories you will need.

We have won awards for customer service and believe in value and quality. Check our reviews from thousands of customers all around the world. Having delivered to over 50 countries from homes to fishing lodges for that last minute requirement.

Visit Website

Phone:

01757333003

Email:

directors@theessentialfly.com

Location:

Rowan Lodge35B Bondgate

The Essential Fly 5 star review on 2nd February 2020
David Storey
More Photos & Videos
The Essential Fly 5 star review on 15th January 2020
John Ball
More Photos & Videos
The Essential Fly 5 star review on 11th December 2019
Len Ridgely
More Photos & Videos
The Essential Fly 5 star review on 17th October 2019
Alasdair Fyfe
More Photos & Videos
The Essential Fly 5 star review on 18th September 2019
David Foster
More Photos & Videos
The Essential Fly 5 star review on 18th September 2019
David Foster
More Photos & Videos
The Essential Fly 5 star review on 18th September 2019
David Foster
More Photos & Videos
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Always willing to go the extra mile, offer advise and never fail to deliver excellent customer service.
Posted 1 week ago
Excellent quality products and brilliant service would highly recommend to anyone
Posted 1 week ago
Prompt, efficient despatch, good value for money. Highly recommended.
Posted 1 week ago
Good service,good stock of quality materials
Posted 2 weeks ago
because some of the things i ordered were not in stock delivery took a bit longer than it should, but very grateful for the free gift, thank you. will order again
Posted 2 weeks ago
First time of using Essential fly very pleased with flies and will using them again in the near future
Posted 2 weeks ago
Great service quick delivery good quality flies and tying materials will definitely be ordering again bonus free gift perfect πŸ˜€
Posted 2 weeks ago
Very efficient ordering service good quality flies and a real person on hand to talk to if you want to change your order before it has been shipped.
Keep up the good work.
Posted 2 weeks ago
A friendly family company who provide a prompt and professional service
covering a wide range of anglers' requirements. They are always pleased to spend time discussing customers' queries to ensure that even their smallest orders are efficiently met.
Posted 2 weeks ago
A little disappointed I'm afraid. It took four days for the order to be completed and a further four days for it to arrive.

I realise we are living in strange times, but other fly tying orders I have placed with other companies have arrived in half the time.
Posted 2 weeks ago
We are sorry to hear you are disappointed. We would like to take this opportunity to explain and hopefully reassure you.
Three of the items you ordered were in stock and available for immediate dispatch. However the three packs of hooks you ordered were special order items. This means we order them in especially for you from the manufacturer or distributor. We carry very large stocks of products but for some items, we order them in especially. During the pandemic, hooks have been in very short supply but we were pleased that we were able to get these in for you.
Our site does show against each item whether it is an in stock item or a special order and this is shown again for clarification in the check out.
Even with your SPO items, your order was dispatched within 3 working days using a first class Royal Mail tracked service.
Royal Mail are dealing with huge volumes of deliveries during the crisis and its unfortunate that some deliveries are taking longer to arrive than normal just now.
If ever there is anything we can help you with or if you would like to check on stock availability please do not hesitate to get in touch with us directly. We are always happy to help.
We sincerely hope you are enjoying your tying materials.
With kind regards
Team TEF
Posted 2 weeks ago
After an initial telephone conversation with Sarah, where her knowledge & advice were invaluable, the items were delivered to me the following day & this during the Corona Virus lockdown period! A fantastic service. Well done. Phil N.
Posted 2 weeks ago
Smooth seamless and consistent efficiency πŸ‘πŸ»
Posted 3 weeks ago
Excellent prompt service backed by friendly helpful staff
Posted 3 weeks ago
With an excellent range of products and materials and a speedy and reliable service the Essential Fly team have become my first choice when buying quality fly-tying gear.
Posted 3 weeks ago
Good Afternoon Gentlemen,

I have yet to receive the satchel I ordered back on the 24th of April (#PO100877).
I will gladly respond to your feedback request following it's arrival.

Thank you,
Cole E Theander
Posted 3 weeks ago
Hello Mr Theander. Your special order satchel was dispatched from us on 29th April on a first class airmail service to you in the States using a tracked service. I hope you have seen the tracking number in your account (if you need this please get in touch directly so we can privately share this with you - customerservices@theessentialfly.com).
We are aware that deliveries are taking longer than normal to arrive unfortunately due to the very high volumes but we sincerely hope it will be with you very soon.
If you need any further help, our customer services team on the above email address will be happy to help you.
Thank you
Team TEF
Posted 2 weeks ago
Lockdown has had me at the tying bench more often, sometimes without what I need. On a friends recommendation I called the shop and the lovely Ann was very helpful indeed with everything delivered as promised. Don’t feel a need to try anywhere else now, I think I have found my favourite distributor of all things fly tying at last. 🎣🎣🎣🎣. Take care
Posted 3 weeks ago
Wow thank you so very much for your very kind feedback. This means so much to us. Thank you
Posted 2 weeks ago
Great range of products, reasonably priced and delivered quickly.
Posted 3 weeks ago
Great service. Fast deliveries.
Posted 3 weeks ago
Generally very good flies. However I recently ordered some suspender buzzers and was disappointed to find the foam was not the circular ball I am used to, but cut out of a flat piece and roughly shaped. The problem with this is that the foan can act as a propeller, putting multiple twists into the leader. This makes fishing them very frustrating. Suspenders with the ball foam enclosed in mesh do not suffer from this problem.

Gordon
Posted 3 weeks ago
essential fly is a quality company providing quality products at competitive prices. Their service is excellent and the site provides nuggets of information that lightens the day.
Go to the bestπŸ‘
Posted 3 weeks ago
The Essential Fly is rated 4.86 based on 1,688 reviews