The Essential Fly Reviews

4.87 Rating 1,522 Reviews
98 %
of reviewers recommend The Essential Fly
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
delivery methods
Postal Service
average delivery time
Next Day
on-time delivery
95%
accurate and undamaged orders
96%
Customer Service
communication channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
queries resolved in
Under an hour
Read The Essential Fly Reviews

About The Essential Fly:

Specialists in Fly Fishing with salmon, trout flies, and flies for lots of other species. We sell Fly Fishing Tackle and gear and a huge range of Fly Tying Materials and Tools - The Essential Fly is a leading supplier of gear for fly fishermen, rainbow & brown trout flies, salmon flies and flies for every species from our massive selection. Fly tying materials and tools to satisfy every fly tyers needs. With tackle from Greys to Wychwood, from fly rods to waders, luggage and all of the accessories you will need.

We have won awards for customer service and believe in value and quality. Check our reviews from thousands of customers all around the world. Having delivered to over 50 countries from homes to fishing lodges for that last minute requirement.

Visit Website

Phone:

01757333003

Email:

directors@theessentialfly.com

Location:

Rowan Lodge35B Bondgate

Great service I will definitely use you again
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Easy to order and goods received quickly and packaged securely Pity I didn't wait a few more days as my order would have been discounted with "black Friday" deals. As a regular customer, could Essential Fly informed me of this......that would have been excellent Customer Service!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Things did not start well when my order arrived with one set of flies missing. I am pleased to say that the team at Essential Fly resolved the problem and soon forwarded the missing flies. All's well that ends well! Flies that catch trout (as well as anglers), great supporting information and a good service. I would have awarded five stars had part of the original order not been missing. A satisfied customer.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Ordered a few times from this company. First class service and decent prices. Recommended
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Good selection of quality trout flies reasonable prices , promp delevery to Eire
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
appreciate being able to buy fly's from Essential Fly, good quality and prompt service. Little disappointed that you could not meet the full order last time but appreciated the three bonus fly's. Thanks for all the help
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Excellent service. Speedy delivery and a very good choice of product.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Delivery was prompt and accurate, thankyou using the Nymphs this weekend ... will it make me a better fisherman ... probably not !
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Excellent flies and advice.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Very professional and friendly staff.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Very good service and would have been 5 stars but just 2 -3 days after placing an order for just short of £200 I received a 20% discount code.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
I haven’t used the flies yet but they look good.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
I don’t tie my own flies and Essential’s flies are some of the best flies I buy. They seem to be robust in that they don’t fall apart after the first catch and, unlike a number of nice flies, the hooks are generally strong - which is important for stillwaters where fish are often stocked much bigger than you’d find wild. They also have an expanding collection of barbless flies, which helps since my person decision to only by barbless, as far as possible.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Quality goods, Quality service
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
I have used the flys I purchased before and I like the style & pattern.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Whilst the items I ordered were of good quality and reasonable price, they did take rather a long time to arrive. Ordered 22/1/19 and arrived 7/2/19. Apparently they had to be ordered direct from the supplier. Perhaps keeping a larger stock would cut down any delays.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Hi and thank you very much for your feedback.
With regards to the stock availability, we do carry very large stocks of a wide variety of products. However there are some items that we order in especially for customers direct from the manufacturer.
On each item online in our store, the stock status is shown even down to individual colour/size variants - it states whether it is an in stock item or if it needs to be ordered in - anticipated delivery timescales are shown. This is shown in red underneath the price box.

Stock availability is then confirmed again at check out in red, with the estimated time for delivery.

I hope this clarifies the situation regarding our stock and that it reassures you. If there is anything we can help you with in any way at any time please do not hesitate to get in touch.

With very best wishes
The Essential Fly
Posted 11 months ago
An excellent range of products. Friendly service.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Good products.Correct delivery time i recommend best regards
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
I have purchased various flies on line from The Essential Fly over the last two to three seasons and have always found them to be excellent both for value and service.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
The service was good, however the voucher sent would only print off the writing and not the picture.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
The Essential Fly is rated 4.87 based on 1,522 reviews