The Essential Fly Reviews

4.86 Rating 1,688 Reviews
98 %
of reviewers recommend The Essential Fly
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
Average Delivery Time
Next Day
On-time Delivery
95%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
96%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Read The Essential Fly Reviews

About The Essential Fly:

Specialists in Fly Fishing with salmon, trout flies, and flies for lots of other species. We sell Fly Fishing Tackle and gear and a huge range of Fly Tying Materials and Tools - The Essential Fly is a leading supplier of gear for fly fishermen, rainbow & brown trout flies, salmon flies and flies for every species from our massive selection. Fly tying materials and tools to satisfy every fly tyers needs. With tackle from Greys to Wychwood, from fly rods to waders, luggage and all of the accessories you will need.

We have won awards for customer service and believe in value and quality. Check our reviews from thousands of customers all around the world. Having delivered to over 50 countries from homes to fishing lodges for that last minute requirement.

Visit Website

Phone:

01757333003

Email:

directors@theessentialfly.com

Location:

Rowan Lodge35B Bondgate

The Essential Fly 5 star review on 2nd February 2020
David Storey
More Photos & Videos
The Essential Fly 5 star review on 15th January 2020
John Ball
More Photos & Videos
The Essential Fly 5 star review on 11th December 2019
Len Ridgely
More Photos & Videos
The Essential Fly 5 star review on 17th October 2019
Alasdair Fyfe
More Photos & Videos
The Essential Fly 5 star review on 18th September 2019
David Foster
More Photos & Videos
The Essential Fly 5 star review on 18th September 2019
David Foster
More Photos & Videos
The Essential Fly 5 star review on 18th September 2019
David Foster
More Photos & Videos
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I received my ordered flies on the expected date, I have used some of the flies and they appear to be well tied not having disintegrated on the first cast like ones I have purchased in the past from other sellers.
I had ordered barbless hooks and received barbed but I easily nipped them off with a pair of pliers.
I would purchase from Essential fly again
Posted 2 days ago
very good and serious
Posted 3 days ago
prompt service well tied flies, will use again.
Posted 1 week ago
Its a good and easy site to use, although sometimes some digging is required. Products are fine and arrive in a timely manner and accuracy is good when dealing with lots of tiny bits like flies!
Posted 1 week ago
Great customer services
Posted 3 weeks ago
Everything was fine that I ordered, no complaints at all. The act of kindness free gifts is bugging me a little though, I've recently spent 40 odd quid on fly tying and I've missed the boat by a couple of days! Ho hum
Posted 1 month ago
Good service, web site complicated
Posted 1 month ago
good service but a small delay which is acceptable due to the circumstances which we are in and thank you very much Mark Norwood.
Posted 1 month ago
This firm carries a great range of fly-tying materials and equipment and offers a wonderful service to its customers. I can heartily recommend them to any potential client.
John D Murphy
Posted 1 month ago
Really good company, great service from a good selection of product lines. All delivered quickly.
Posted 2 months ago
Excellent service. Would be 5 stars if, the range of products, was greater. Not that the range is small, as it is but, could be bigger.
Posted 3 months ago
Recently received my order from The Essential Fly and once again my order was completed in good time and exactly as ordered. I know that I have gained loyalty points with past orders but I am not sure how I can use these. Perhaps you could update accounts and make it a little easier to use any accumulated points. I am very pleased with the service you supply. One other question, how will brexir affect my orders in future. Thank You. Martin Ryan.
Posted 3 months ago
Thank you very much for your kind feedback. With regards to your loyalty points you can learn how these are earned and redeemed via this link https://www.theessentialfly.com/faq_loyaltypoints.html
To see your points, if you login to your account and click order information, you can see how many points you have and their value.
Once you have saved up enough loyalty points, you will automatically be offered the choice to spend them at check out via a tick box.
With regards to Brexit nothing will change. We will continue to export as we do now. We are experienced at shipping goods worldwide as we currently send orders to over 50 countries.
If we can be of any help to you at any time please do not hesitate to get in touch.
With best wishes
Team TEF
Posted 3 months ago
I am generally satisfied with the Essential Fly however I have had occasion recently to complain of their bad discount practice which does little to help a loyal customer. You will penalise yourselves as I will think twice before I buy from you again. There are other suppliers who deserve patronage, as well as you!
Posted 4 months ago
We are sorry to hear that you are not satisfied on this occasion Mr Whiter. We have looked into this and would like to clarify the situation from here. From time to time we put out offers. Our offers will change through the year as we like to provide our customers with the very best deals and a variety of styles of offers to suit different people or seasons. However we do typically communicate our offers on email to let people know about them initially, then a reminder and then a notice when they are due to end. This we feel gives everyone an opportunity to take advantage, or not, as as they see fit. You will have seen this no doubt on our most recent offer for the registered customer discount code I hope.
I believe you may be referring to our clearance offer where, as part of this, our leaders were reduced in price? This offer started just after Christmas as January sale offer. Having emailed about the sale initially, as the offer progressed, we emailed out to all customers on 9th and 13th January to advise them not to miss out on these deals.
I understand you placed your order the day after the sale ended.
May I point out that when you placed your order, we did not have a free shipping offer on too, it was just the discount on the products. The value of the discount you would have received was £4.31. When you placed your order, you were able to take advantage of free shipping which meant you did not have to pay £3.99. So the impact of this matter is a difference of 32p.
We are aware that you spoke with our customer services team about this and they discussed this with you. They tell us that you said you were happy that you had received a discount of some sort and with just a 32p difference overall.
We would be more than happy to discuss this with you further and do all we can to help. We genuinely want to do our best for you and provide you with the best service and products for your fly fishing.
With very best wishes
Team TEF
Posted 4 months ago
Well. Tryed flys. Quick delivery
Posted 4 months ago
Great service I will definitely use you again
Posted 4 months ago
Easy to order and goods received quickly and packaged securely
Pity I didn't wait a few more days as my order would have been discounted with "black Friday" deals. As a regular customer, could Essential Fly informed me of this......that would have been excellent Customer Service!
Posted 6 months ago
Things did not start well when my order arrived with one set of flies missing. I am pleased to say that the team at Essential Fly resolved the problem and soon forwarded the missing flies. All's well that ends well! Flies that catch trout (as well as anglers), great supporting information and a good service. I would have awarded five stars had part of the original order not been missing. A satisfied customer.
Posted 6 months ago
Ordered a few times from this company. First class service and decent prices. Recommended
Posted 6 months ago
Good selection of quality trout flies reasonable prices , promp delevery to Eire
Posted 7 months ago
appreciate being able to buy fly's from Essential Fly, good quality and prompt service.
Little disappointed that you could not meet the full order last time but appreciated the three bonus fly's. Thanks for all the help
Posted 8 months ago
The Essential Fly is rated 4.86 based on 1,688 reviews