The Essential Fly Reviews

4.87 Rating 1,369 Reviews
98% of reviewers recommend The Essential Fly

About The Essential Fly: Specialists in Fly Fishing with salmon, trout flies, and flies for lots of other species. We sell Fly Fishing Tackle and gear and a huge range of Fly Tying Materials and Tools - The Essential Fly is a leading supplier of gear for fly fishermen, rainbow & brown trout flies, salmon flies and flies for every species from our massive selection. Fly tying materials and tools to satisfy every fly tyers needs. With tackle from Greys to Wychwood, from fly rods to waders, luggage and all of the accessories you will need.

We have won awards for customer service and believe in value and quality. Check our reviews from thousands of customers all around the world. Having delivered to over 50 countries from homes to fishing lodges for that last minute requirement.

Visit Website

Phone:
01757333003

Email:
directors@theessentialfly.com

Location:
Rowan Lodge35B Bondgate

Category:
Sporting Goods

Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions
Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
delivery methods
Postal Service
average delivery time
Next Day
on-time delivery
97%
accurate and undamaged orders
Greater than 94%
Customer Service
communication channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
queries resolved in
Under an hour
5
Brian Lodge
"I have just received my pack of sandys assasins emergers and they look fantastic i have yet to try them but if they are anywhere near as good as sandys blank buster buzzers i will be more than happy.The essential fly is the place to go for all your flies and fly tying with great service and quality products fantastic you wont be disappointed take a look at this beauty i nailed on a buzzer a week ago early april tight lines."
Posted 3 months ago
5
Chris Winsor
"Original order did not arrive on time due to address error (my fault) Contacted Andy ,order reissued to my fishing location, arrived as planned, tied one on & caught a 11lb salmon!!!!! SIMPLES!!"
Posted 8 months ago
Benoit Albertini
"Very warm welcome, nice staffs, and even speak French in an English Fly tying shop. Lots of materials, everything needed. Good prices and professional staff who knows what they talking about."
Posted 8 months ago
"I don’t tie my own flies and Essential’s flies are some of the best flies I buy. They seem to be robust in that they don’t fall apart after the first catch and, unlike a number of nice flies, the hooks are generally strong - which is important for stillwaters where fish are often stocked much bigger than you’d find wild. They also have an expanding collection of barbless flies, which helps since my person decision to only by barbless, as far as possible."
Posted 2 months ago
Visit Website
"Quality goods, Quality service"
Posted 3 months ago
"I have used the flys I purchased before and I like the style & pattern."
Posted 4 months ago
"Whilst the items I ordered were of good quality and reasonable price, they did take rather a long time to arrive. Ordered 22/1/19 and arrived 7/2/19. Apparently they had to be ordered direct from the supplier. Perhaps keeping a larger stock would cut down any delays."
Posted 5 months ago
Hi and thank you very much for your feedback.
With regards to the stock availability, we do carry very large stocks of a wide variety of products. However there are some items that we order in especially for customers direct from the manufacturer.
On each item online in our store, the stock status is shown even down to individual colour/size variants - it states whether it is an in stock item or if it needs to be ordered in - anticipated delivery timescales are shown. This is shown in red underneath the price box.

Stock availability is then confirmed again at check out in red, with the estimated time for delivery.

I hope this clarifies the situation regarding our stock and that it reassures you. If there is anything we can help you with in any way at any time please do not hesitate to get in touch.

With very best wishes
The Essential Fly
Posted 5 months ago
"An excellent range of products. Friendly service."
Posted 5 months ago
"Good products.Correct delivery time i recommend best regards"
Posted 5 months ago
"I have purchased various flies on line from The Essential Fly over the last two to three seasons and have always found them to be excellent both for value and service."
Posted 6 months ago
"The service was good, however the voucher sent would only print off the writing and not the picture."
Posted 7 months ago
"the day after i placed my order the cash was taken from my acc. , but after waiting for aweek with out any word ihad to 'phone , to be told they were waiting for hooks, an e-mail would have helped to let me know, regards jim.campbell."
Posted 7 months ago
Hi Jim,

Thank you very much for your recent order. With regards to the delivery and communications may I point out that our website shows on every product page the availability of each item. This is repeated in your basket at time of checkout, for each item to advise what is in stock and what is special order. Our system is an active stock system which shows the current stock (even down to individual size options on flies for example) that we have in our store at any one time.

The items that you ordered were indeed special order which, as shown at time of ordering means we order these items in especially for you – the site does explain the estimated time of delivery. This is why it took a few extra days for your goods to arrive compared to our in stock items which are dispatched immediately. You will have received our order acknowledgment email as standard.

I hope that this clarifies the situation for you. Please let us know if there is anything else that we can help you with.

Kind regards
The Essential Fly
Posted 7 months ago
"Polite, helpful and a timely delivery to the Republic of Ireland."
Posted 7 months ago
"Everything arrived exactly as described & caught a nice trout on the third cast with one of the daddies! If I was being really picky the delivery was a bit slow."
Posted 9 months ago
"great service very quick delivery and excellent products"
Posted 10 months ago
"Quality of materials good a bit slow on delivery, but all in all good service no complaints,regular emails with fly tying patterns are great."
Posted 10 months ago
"Some of the flies I ordered were not readly available leading to a delay ...however , I was kept informed of progress ....good customer handling !"
Posted 1 year ago
"It would be helpful if you would pack fly orders in separate labeled packs"
Posted 1 year ago
"good quality flies quick delivery"
Posted 1 year ago
"I’ve used this company for a few years now, they’re service is excellent."
Posted 1 year ago
"The service was good and the hooks are just what I was looking for. Light, but good strength, good holding power. The hooks could do with larger eyes from 20 onwards just for us old uns Tight lines"
Posted 1 year ago
"After wrong picking of item's first time,they send me the right item's second time,whiteout Any extra cost's for me"
Posted 1 year ago
"Customer service is very good. Always fast and helpful responses to queries whether by phone or email. Normally stock levels are good which means orders arrive reasonably speedily. The range of options for fly tying materials is good. I like the briefing emails on fishing techniques and rigs which I think is a differentiator from Essential Fly's competitors. One area where there could be an improvement is the search function on the website. You often get irrelevant choices and you can't narrow the options down. This can be very frustrating when you know what you want but have to trawl through loads of stuff yo get to the item(s) you want. Overall very satisfied which is why I'm a long time repeat customer."
Posted 1 year ago
The Essential Fly is rated 4.87 based on 1,369 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support

Create Free Account Now

Fill the details below & get instant access