The Essential Fly Reviews

4.8 Rating 2,039 Reviews
97 %
of reviewers recommend The Essential Fly
4.8
Based on 2,039 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 91%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
98%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.9 out of 5
Read The Essential Fly Reviews

About The Essential Fly:

Specialists in Fly Fishing with salmon, trout flies, and flies for lots of other species. We sell Fly Fishing Tackle and gear and a huge range of Fly Tying Materials and Tools - The Essential Fly is a leading supplier of gear for fly fishermen, rainbow & brown trout flies, salmon flies and flies for every species from our massive selection. Fly tying materials and tools to satisfy every fly tyers needs. With tackle from Greys to Wychwood, from fly rods to waders, luggage and all of the accessories you will need.

We have won awards for customer service and believe in value and quality. Check our reviews from thousands of customers all around the world. Having delivered to over 50 countries from homes to fishing lodges for that last minute requirement.

Write Your review

Tell us how The Essential Fly made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
One of the products I ordered was no longer available. Having paid for the product Essential Fly informed me that they could not source the product and refunded the money. The remaining item ordered was duly dispatched with free postage.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
items ordered came when they said they would, no delays.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
So happy with The Essential Fly website, the range of Fly Fishing tackle, Tying materials and the ordering process Thank you.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
Hey, what can I say. Superb. Couldn’t fault in anyway. AB
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
All materials i bought i am very happy with,keenly priced and good quality.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Quick and easy. Good service. Recommend to anyone.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Reasonably priced flies good quality well packaged and presented , dispatched in good time , all round very good experience
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Wide range of good quality products- swiftly delivered
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Always had a speedy delivery and good quality of flies on arrival
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
I ordered a fly tying device to assist my partially sighted son to tie flies to his leader when he fishes. The device is of American manufacture and is of robust construction.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
The Essential fly , have been very helpful with all my purchases, talked to staff regarding certain items , very knowlegable, will be using this Company again.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Great stuff to work with , will buy again when needed.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
The Essential Fly is the place for excellent flies and a 1st class service. The website was easy to use and also informative. I will be back am sure as the season progresses. Thank you very much.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Fast and efficient
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
All fly tying items delivered safely and intact. Only a 4 star rating as I was promised a call back to discuss some materials but didn't get one.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hi and thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear your order arrived safely. However may we politely point out please that we did call you. You were unavailable at the time unfortunately but we don't want you to think we were not responding to your query. We are more than happy to discuss materials with you at any time. If there is anything we can help you with please do not hesitate to get in touch. Thank you and very best wishes Team TEF
Posted 1 month ago
Coneheads I purchased were at a good price and were delivered really quickly would definitely recommend Essential Fly and have since purchased from them again . 👍
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Thanks for supplying top quality flies .Not caught anything with them yet though 😂
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
The products, prices and service are excellent
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
the items ordered took a long time to arrive because they were waiting for a delivery to arrive before they could complete the order. when i received the goods one item was missing, i did receive a refund for missing item. it would have been better if they had told me when ordering, what items they had in stock.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hi Mr Raybone and thank you for your recent order and your feedback today. We have looked into your query and would like to respond please. When you ordered in December, it was just a couple of days before we and our suppliers closed for the Christmas break. Out of the items you ordered, 3 were special order items which is shown on each of the items and is confirmed in the check out also. The normal delivery timescales for bringing in special order items was unfortunately affected by the extended Christmas and New year break. But as soon as we were back and our suppliers open, we chased these up for you and once they came in we shipped them to you immediately. We are reliant on the manufacturers having stock available and were equally sorry to hear that one of your items was not in stock at the suppliers after all. This was unfortunately out of our hands. If ever you would like to check on stock availability or perhaps consider alternative brands that are more easily available we are more than happy to help you via email or the phone. This is a service we offer with pleasure. If you need advice from our in house tyers and anglers, these people are on hand too. We thank you again for your custom and please be assured we will always do our best for you. Kind regards Team TEF
Posted 1 month ago
Trusted site for all my fly fishing and tying needs
The Essential Fly 5 star review on 18th January 2024 The Essential Fly 5 star review on 18th January 2024 The Essential Fly 5 star review on 18th January 2024
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
The Essential Fly is rated 4.8 based on 2,039 reviews