The Essential Fly Reviews

4.8 Rating 2,098 Reviews
97 %
of reviewers recommend The Essential Fly
4.8
Based on 2,098 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 91%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
98%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.9 out of 5
Read The Essential Fly Reviews

About The Essential Fly:

Specialists in Fly Fishing with salmon, trout flies, and flies for lots of other species. We sell Fly Fishing Tackle and gear and a huge range of Fly Tying Materials and Tools - The Essential Fly is a leading supplier of gear for fly fishermen, rainbow & brown trout flies, salmon flies and flies for every species from our massive selection. Fly tying materials and tools to satisfy every fly tyers needs. With tackle from Greys to Wychwood, from fly rods to waders, luggage and all of the accessories you will need.

We have won awards for customer service and believe in value and quality. Check our reviews from thousands of customers all around the world. Having delivered to over 50 countries from homes to fishing lodges for that last minute requirement.

Write Your review

Tell us how The Essential Fly made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Ordered on the Monday arrived on Tuesday top quality flies very happy customer
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
Julie who I speak to when placing telephone orders is always very helpful and will often suggest different and more suitable answers to my queries and consult with other colleagues and suppliers to answer my questions and then take the time and trouble to call me back, truly exceptional in this day and age!
The Essential Fly 5 star review on 14th July 2024
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
The Essential Fly are my go to company for supplying quality flies. Any issues are quickly sorted out to good satisfaction. I am very happy with the quick postage too and customer service. I will be continuing to use them .
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Website easy to use, good variety of gear and prompt delivery. Had small problem with website wanting to charge me postage for an order over £50 but a phone call sorted that out straight away. Would definitely recommend.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Good flies Good service
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Excellent quality flies with quick delivery.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Excellent service and excellent staff. Would recommend this company to all my angling friends. Tight lines Reg.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Well made flies.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Excellent range and good communication. Only draw back is how long it takes to receive orders
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Anything i purchase from Essential fly is quality
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I haven't used my airflo sinking leader yet but it arrived very quickly.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Fine products, exemplary service.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Very quick service and good products as always.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I've been a customer for years and always found flies to be high quality and experienced excellent service. This time they went above and beyond. I called to check delivery times, my order was processed right away, and I received it next day. It was a gift for a friend so I was really pleased to receive it in time for our fishing trip. Thank you The Essential Fly, really impressive customer service!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Great company to deal with. Helpful and efficient. I will buy from them again.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
My order went fine and the flies were tied very well. Thanks, Mark
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hi ! In response to your feedback, we can reassure you that your order has been dealt with promptly! It left us the day after you placed your order ie on 14th May. You were sent details of the dispatch to your email as standard at the time. Please check your spam folder in case its in there. We see you live in the States, so it may take a few days to arrive but we invite you to get in touch directly via customerservices@theessentialfly.com or 00 44 1757 333003 if you have any queries at any time. We will be happy to help you. We hope you enjoy your flies! With best wishes Team TEF
Posted 1 month ago
As a follow up, we have checked the tracking and can see that your order was delivered to you yesterday. We hope you get out fishing with them soon and that they are lucky for you. Thanks Team TEF
Posted 1 month ago
Thank you for your kind update following our earlier conversation. We are glad to hear your order was received well and that you like the flies. Tight lines!
Posted 1 month ago
Great products and fast delivery. Excellent service.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Everything I have ordered from The Essential Fly has arrived quickly and as ordered. I was unsure when a new rod would arrive so I ‘phoned the customer service line and got the information I wanted from a friendly and efficient actual human. Very happy overall.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Great service
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Delivery a little later than expected, but it got here in the end
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
The Essential Fly is rated 4.8 based on 2,098 reviews