The Essential Fly Reviews

4.8 Rating 2,066 Reviews
97 %
of reviewers recommend The Essential Fly
4.8
Based on 2,066 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 91%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
98%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.9 out of 5
Read The Essential Fly Reviews

About The Essential Fly:

Specialists in Fly Fishing with salmon, trout flies, and flies for lots of other species. We sell Fly Fishing Tackle and gear and a huge range of Fly Tying Materials and Tools - The Essential Fly is a leading supplier of gear for fly fishermen, rainbow & brown trout flies, salmon flies and flies for every species from our massive selection. Fly tying materials and tools to satisfy every fly tyers needs. With tackle from Greys to Wychwood, from fly rods to waders, luggage and all of the accessories you will need.

We have won awards for customer service and believe in value and quality. Check our reviews from thousands of customers all around the world. Having delivered to over 50 countries from homes to fishing lodges for that last minute requirement.

Write Your review

Tell us how The Essential Fly made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Flies are always first class well packaged for delivery great company to deal with
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
A well stocked shop excellent service and delivery.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
I have used EF off and on for some years and found their flies to be good quality. I was pleased when they started a barbless collection but recently disappointed to find their barbless selection (esp., buzzers, crunchers and PTN) has become a bit limited. I hope the barbless selection will expand soon.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
Hi Mr Burridge and thank you for your custom, we appreciate being able to supply you with your flies. With regards to barbless ranges, we do have dedicated departments for these. Here are a few for you https://www.theessentialfly.com/barbless-buzzers.html https://www.theessentialfly.com/barbless-cruncher-nymph-flies.html https://www.theessentialfly.com/barbless-diawl-bach-nymph-flies.html https://www.theessentialfly.com/barbless-pheasant-tail-nymph-flies-ptn.html https://www.theessentialfly.com/barbless-traditional-nymph-flies.html https://www.theessentialfly.com/barbless-lure-streamer.html https://www.theessentialfly.com/barbless-gold-ribbed-hares-ear-nymph-flies-grhe.html We hope you find these links helpful and of course that the flies are to your liking! If we can ever be of any help to you please do get in touch via email or phone, our team are on hand! Thank you Team TEF
Posted 2 days ago
Great service and fast shipping to Canada!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
Good quality products. Good price. Dispatched quickly
Helpful Report
Posted 6 days ago
A good range of flies. High quality product. In stock and quick delivery.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
First class service and good as always
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Great choice, competitive prices prompt delivery.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Very nice quality
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Awesome flies for both freshwater and sea fishing
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Excellent company, delivered on time, highly recommended. Would use again.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Good quality flies delivered quickly through a great website.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
The very best service all round with some of the best fly tying materials available.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Dealing with essential Fly has been an absolute pleasure. I was not sure what I needed, so I called and spoke to Philippa, who could not have been more helpful. She did not try to sell me anything that I didn't need and simply offered excellent advice. I placed my order and everything arrived promptly. In this age of Chatbots and recorded messages, it was very refreshing to get such excellent personal service.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
Quick delivery and excellent product
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
Always helpful. Excellent delivery. Good range of products
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
Great choice of materials and speedy postage. Thanks team.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
Very good to deal with! Hassle free and fantastic products
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Just received my order of Ahrex 270s hooks in size 5/0 They were out of stock for a while, but arrived quickly when available with the Predator fibres.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Great service got exactly what I wanted, would order from them again thanks.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
The Essential Fly is rated 4.8 based on 2,066 reviews