The Essential Fly Reviews

4.8 Rating 2,082 Reviews
97 %
of reviewers recommend The Essential Fly
4.8
Based on 2,082 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 91%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
98%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.9 out of 5
Read The Essential Fly Reviews

About The Essential Fly:

Specialists in Fly Fishing with salmon, trout flies, and flies for lots of other species. We sell Fly Fishing Tackle and gear and a huge range of Fly Tying Materials and Tools - The Essential Fly is a leading supplier of gear for fly fishermen, rainbow & brown trout flies, salmon flies and flies for every species from our massive selection. Fly tying materials and tools to satisfy every fly tyers needs. With tackle from Greys to Wychwood, from fly rods to waders, luggage and all of the accessories you will need.

We have won awards for customer service and believe in value and quality. Check our reviews from thousands of customers all around the world. Having delivered to over 50 countries from homes to fishing lodges for that last minute requirement.

Write Your review

Tell us how The Essential Fly made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Great products and fast delivery. Excellent service.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
Everything I have ordered from The Essential Fly has arrived quickly and as ordered. I was unsure when a new rod would arrive so I ‘phoned the customer service line and got the information I wanted from a friendly and efficient actual human. Very happy overall.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
Great service
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
Delivery a little later than expected, but it got here in the end
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
Very good service. Promt delivery.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Hi, We are very happy to spend shopping with flytying items because your services are very quickly and the shipping as well and not too expensive the price. We are so happy with you. Kind regards, Hiro & Michiko
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Quality products as usual.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
I found 'The Essential Fly' website easy to navigate and made purchasing easy. The customer service side was found to be excellent and to a standard that other companies find difficult to attain, the personal touch makes a very big difference. 'The Essential Fly' is a company that I find to be sincere and would have zero hesitation in recommending.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Flies look good quality and well tied. Not used yet, so time will tell.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Took over 3 weeks to arrive, got slapped with customs fees totalling over a quarter of the money spent here. Never shopping here again
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Hello Mr Ward We would like to take this opportunity to respond to your feedback please. We can see that your order was dispatched from us within a few days, once all your special order items were in, leaving us by 26th April. We shipped via courier to get your order to you asap. We can see that your order arrived on 1st May according to the tracking, some 5 days later (including a weekend)? With regards to the customs fees, we are sorry but there is nothing we can do to help you here, as we have no influence over the regulations about importing into Ireland. We do hope you are enjoying your gear. With very best wishes Team TEF
Posted 2 hours ago
Good products, with very good delivery.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
these flies look good,catch fish and dont fall apart
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
There was a problem with what I ordered and they took the trouble to ring me and offer alternatives,as well as keeping me updated with the delivery status. Good,polite and efficient service.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Great service, great people. Recently called up about an order- immediately sorted with humour and efficiency…what more could I want? Still debating how to pronounce Lochsa😂
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Excellent Company that overcomes any issue.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Very nicely tied flies. Arrived quickly . Sadly I am collecting not fishing due to the rain but fingers crossed it dries up soon .
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Flies are always first class well packaged for delivery great company to deal with
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
A well stocked shop excellent service and delivery.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I have used EF off and on for some years and found their flies to be good quality. I was pleased when they started a barbless collection but recently disappointed to find their barbless selection (esp., buzzers, crunchers and PTN) has become a bit limited. I hope the barbless selection will expand soon.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hi Mr Burridge and thank you for your custom, we appreciate being able to supply you with your flies. With regards to barbless ranges, we do have dedicated departments for these. Here are a few for you https://www.theessentialfly.com/barbless-buzzers.html https://www.theessentialfly.com/barbless-cruncher-nymph-flies.html https://www.theessentialfly.com/barbless-diawl-bach-nymph-flies.html https://www.theessentialfly.com/barbless-pheasant-tail-nymph-flies-ptn.html https://www.theessentialfly.com/barbless-traditional-nymph-flies.html https://www.theessentialfly.com/barbless-lure-streamer.html https://www.theessentialfly.com/barbless-gold-ribbed-hares-ear-nymph-flies-grhe.html We hope you find these links helpful and of course that the flies are to your liking! If we can ever be of any help to you please do get in touch via email or phone, our team are on hand! Thank you Team TEF
Posted 1 month ago
Great service and fast shipping to Canada!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
The Essential Fly is rated 4.8 based on 2,082 reviews