The Essential Fly Reviews

4.87 Rating 1,369 Reviews
98% of reviewers recommend The Essential Fly

About The Essential Fly: Specialists in Fly Fishing with salmon, trout flies, and flies for lots of other species. We sell Fly Fishing Tackle and gear and a huge range of Fly Tying Materials and Tools - The Essential Fly is a leading supplier of gear for fly fishermen, rainbow & brown trout flies, salmon flies and flies for every species from our massive selection. Fly tying materials and tools to satisfy every fly tyers needs. With tackle from Greys to Wychwood, from fly rods to waders, luggage and all of the accessories you will need.

We have won awards for customer service and believe in value and quality. Check our reviews from thousands of customers all around the world. Having delivered to over 50 countries from homes to fishing lodges for that last minute requirement.

Visit Website



Rowan Lodge35B Bondgate

Sporting Goods

Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions
Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
delivery methods
Postal Service
average delivery time
Next Day
on-time delivery
accurate and undamaged orders
Greater than 94%
Customer Service
communication channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
queries resolved in
Under an hour
Brian Lodge
"I have just received my pack of sandys assasins emergers and they look fantastic i have yet to try them but if they are anywhere near as good as sandys blank buster buzzers i will be more than happy.The essential fly is the place to go for all your flies and fly tying with great service and quality products fantastic you wont be disappointed take a look at this beauty i nailed on a buzzer a week ago early april tight lines."
Posted 3 months ago
Chris Winsor
"Original order did not arrive on time due to address error (my fault) Contacted Andy ,order reissued to my fishing location, arrived as planned, tied one on & caught a 11lb salmon!!!!! SIMPLES!!"
Posted 8 months ago
Benoit Albertini
"Very warm welcome, nice staffs, and even speak French in an English Fly tying shop. Lots of materials, everything needed. Good prices and professional staff who knows what they talking about."
Posted 8 months ago
"did not supply one of the items ordered and did not offer an alternative"
Posted 3 months ago
Thank you very much for your recent order. We are sorry that one of the packs of hooks was not available. These hooks were part of a range of hooks we were special ordering for you as shown on the site ie they were not in stock items. Unfortunately the distributor of these Fulling Mill hooks were out of stock of them too so we were very limited in our options for you for this pack. We do carry large stocks of tying materials and hooks but for certain ranges/sizes we order them in especially for customers. We rely on our suppliers to get the goods to us in a timely manner but unfortunately on this occasion one of the sets were not available. If there is anything we can help you with please do let us know.
With very best wishes
Team Essential Fly
Posted 3 months ago
Visit Website
"Regrettably most of what I wanted (grey mayflies to match our hatch) were out of stock (why??) and I had to make do with variations. Then having placed my order I was subsequently advised that you could only supple 1 Empheria bundle. Yes I was refunded but your flies are not cheap and having spent £40+ I have not really got what I wanted."
Posted 3 months ago
Hello and thank you for your recent order. We are very sorry that one of the Mayfly Collections was not available for you. With the start of the season, even though we manufactured great volumes of flies in preparation, we have received much higher than anticipated order volumes and our mayflies have been extremely popular. We are of course doing all we can to bring the stocks back up but as we manufacture our flies in thousands at a time, this can take a little time.
We are pleased to see that all your remaining flies were shipped to you and hope that these are to your satisfaction.
If we can help you with anything at any time please do not hesitate to get in touch.
With best wishes
Team Essential Fly
Posted 3 months ago
"Having difficult sending the right items first time. But the quality of things are fine."
Posted 5 months ago
We are sorry there was a picking error with your order. As soon as you brought this to our attention, we did all we could to remedy this and dispatch the correct pack of hooks to you as quickly as possible.

We sincerely hope all will be well from here.
Thank you
The Essential Fly
Posted 5 months ago
"You were slow, other suppliers get my orders to me much quicker"
Posted 6 months ago
Thank you very much for your order and for your feedback here.
I would like to take this opportunity to respond to your point about our time to deliver.

Your order was placed after we and all our suppliers had closed for Christmas. Our suppliers and ourselves did not open again until 2nd January.

We do carry a large amount of stock but we also offer a special order service for customers. This means we order in special items directly for a customers - back to back with the manufacturer. This just takes a few days. It is also shown on the site and at check out, confirming the length of time it takes for these to come in.

Two out of the three items you ordered were special order items. So as soon as the manufacturer was open again after Christmas and the New Year, these were ordered in immediately for you. There is often a back log with our suppliers after a shut down, but I can assure you that your tying materials were dispatched to you as soon as they come in.

I hope this helps explain the situation regarding your order and if we can be of any help to you at all, or if you would like to check on an order or its status, you are welcome to get in touch at any time.

With kind regards

The Essential Fly
Posted 6 months ago
"service was ok, i just think you should try to be more flexible, i sent an order and i had forgotten something so i placed another order, i sent an email requesting both orders be send as one package but they told me that was not possible even though they were not shipped out yet, also i wasn't given a tracking number, its been a while since i placed my order and i still havnt recieved it, it would be nice to know when its comming, i odered these material to tie some flies before a trip and im afraid i might not get them in time"
Posted 1 year ago
Hello and thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you feel we have not been flexible as we genuinely want to do our best for our customers.
We have looked into your query. We can see that you placed 2 orders, 4 days apart. They contained special order items that we were bringing in for you. As you will be aware, special order items take a little longer whilst we await delivery of them from the supplier - as shown on the site and at your check out.
Your orders were shipped out to you as soon as the supplier items came in but because your orders were placed a few days apart that is why they were dispatched separately.
They have been sent by first class airmail and we hope they will be with you very soon.
Thank you
Customer services.
Posted 1 year ago
"5 out of 10."
Posted 1 year ago
Hi and thank you for your recent order.
However we note your feedback and want to see if there is anything we can do to help? Was there a problem with your order that we are not aware of?Having looked at your order history, we can see we shipped next day, with a free shipping offer. We believe all items were in stock and we hope they were to your standard.
If there is anything we have missed or there is anything we can help you with, please do get in touch. You are welcome to contact us directly on 01757 333003 or
Thank you
Ann and team at TEF
Posted 1 year ago
"Hook quality fair, dressing good, material quality fair The delivery time, 7 days could be improved Would I use Essential Fly again, Probably not"
Posted 1 year ago
We are sorry to hear that your order took time to arrive. We are concerned because your order was dispatched within an hour and half of you placing your order and it was sent out by Royal Mail first class post.
As part of the order process you should have received dispatch emails to confirm this and I am aware that a colleague has emailed you directly with copies of the documents.
We genuinely want to do our best for our customers with the best customer service and speedy dispatch. It looks like Royal Mail has let us all down here.
We sincerely hope this was a one off. Indeed we have not had any other reports of delayed or lost parcels lately. So we hope this will not deter you from shopping with us again.
Please let us know if we can help at all.
Tight lines
Posted 1 year ago
"The products were good. But delivery was slow because of a long lead item. Part delivery of the order would have been appreciated, followed by long lead item. More cost I accept, but greater customer satisfaction."
Posted 2 years ago
"I can't review my purchase yet because I haven't received it yet"
Posted 2 years ago
Hi and thank you for your message. As our customer services have mentioned, your order has been dispatched to you in the States, it was sent within a few hours of receiving your order. We do hope it will be with you very soon and that you will enjoy some fantastic fishing trips with these flies.
Tight lines!
Posted 2 years ago
"Metz Saddle quality not the best."
Posted 3 years ago
"A great product, very well packaged, shame it took so long."
Posted 3 years ago
"Can't rate since I have not received the package as yet"
Posted 3 years ago
"Very prompt service but I ordered two lots of size 10 flies, one lot sent were size 12's."
Posted 3 years ago
"I recently ordered a purchase of flies etc from you and still await news of delivery. Need I say more? As the cost of.this purchase is now on my credit card bill, I would have expected the items to be in transit to me"
Posted 3 years ago
The Essential Fly is rated 4.87 based on 1,369 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support

Create Free Account Now

Fill the details below & get instant access