The Essential Fly Reviews

4.87 Rating 1,586 Reviews
98 %
of reviewers recommend The Essential Fly
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
delivery methods
Postal Service
average delivery time
Next Day
on-time delivery
95%
accurate and undamaged orders
96%
Customer Service
communication channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
queries resolved in
Under an hour
Read The Essential Fly Reviews

About The Essential Fly:

Specialists in Fly Fishing with salmon, trout flies, and flies for lots of other species. We sell Fly Fishing Tackle and gear and a huge range of Fly Tying Materials and Tools - The Essential Fly is a leading supplier of gear for fly fishermen, rainbow & brown trout flies, salmon flies and flies for every species from our massive selection. Fly tying materials and tools to satisfy every fly tyers needs. With tackle from Greys to Wychwood, from fly rods to waders, luggage and all of the accessories you will need.

We have won awards for customer service and believe in value and quality. Check our reviews from thousands of customers all around the world. Having delivered to over 50 countries from homes to fishing lodges for that last minute requirement.

Visit Website

Phone:

01757333003

Email:

directors@theessentialfly.com

Location:

Rowan Lodge35B Bondgate

Have yet to receive my order .Dec 11 shipped.still haven't received order Dec 26 very dissatisfied.trail run ordering material from a new supplier.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi James,

Your order was shipped from us in the UK on the 11th December via the Royal Mail on a First Class International service. The Royal Mail aim to deliver world wide within 5-7 working days. However there are sometimes unforseen delays and during peak shipping times there are excessive post which can also cause delays.

Due to it being Christmas next week there is a increase is post and this does cause some delays. I have checked the Royal Mail website and their last date for poste to be guaranteed to be delivered before Christmas for the USA was the 8th December
You placed your order at 15:37 GMT on the 8th December this order contained special order items which we ordered in for you hence the delay in shipping, however the order was shipped within our advertised timescale.

I am sure that you will receive your order shortly it may arrive before Christmas or just after. I am sorry that your order has yet to arrive and for any inconvinience this may have caused.

Kind regards
The Essential Fly
Posted 1 year ago
Received a fly line winder that was sent in a broken condition, I sent an email complaining about the said item but had no reply or any aknowledgement whatsoever, fortunately the broken winder was repairable and as I needed it to load some reels up I repaired it............... hence the poor rating.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
We are genuinely sorry to hear that the winder arrived in a broken condition. However our team did contact you but did not hear back.

The manufacturer of this item is normally very good at arranging replacements under warranty in such situations and we contacted them on your behalf to discuss this. We shared your photo with them.

However in our email to you, we did recommend to you not to repair the item yourself as it would potentially invalidate the warranty. It is certainly rare that faulty goods come in to us like this but we can assure you that we do our best to look after our customers when this should it happen.

So we are sorry to hear that you are dissatisfied with our service. We hope you will give us an opportunity to reassure you of our commitment to the best customer care.


Thank you

The Essential Fly Customer Services Team
Posted 1 year ago
I WOULD LOVE TO SAY HOW GOOD THE FLIES WERE BUT I STILL HAVE NOT RECIEVED MY ORDER
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
We are sorry to hear that your order has not yet arrived. It left us very promptly from when you placed your order. It was sent first class airmail. I notice that you live on the other side of the world to us so imagine it must still be in transit but we do hope it will be with you very soon and that the flies will be very lucky for you.
Please do keep in touch and let us know once they arrive?
With very best wishes
The Essential Fly Team
Posted 1 year ago
I don’t normally write reviews but I did query this order that it was green in colour by description and picture and it was yellow,when it arrived, not what I wanted, and as boss man said he would phone back and never did. Regards one not happy customer not to order again. Malcolmblackshaw
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
We are genuinely sorry that you are not happy with the follow up to your order query. It took us a while to fully investigate the nature of your query and have been in touch via email on two occasions to confirm our findings - we liaised with the manufacturer on this for you along with checking our stocks of course. I hope you have received these emails.
By way of clarification, the packaging of your item has been changed by the manufacturer (something of which we have no control as a regular dealer for them) but the name of the product has stayed the same. The product whilst called optic green does appear a yellowy green on the line itself. Unfortunately we cannot control the technical details on products supplied by another manufacturer. However if at any time you are unhappy with a product, you are welcome to return it to us for a refund, credit or exchange of course.
We do pride ourselves on our customer service and hope this will not deter you from shopping with us again as we do our best to provide a wide range of goods for the fly angler.
With kind regards
Customer Services.
Posted 2 years ago
Second order over several months. Delivery times were very long and items advertised on both occasions were not in stock or available. Will probably not shop with this company again.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hello and thank you for your recent orders.

I would like to discuss the points you raised and hopefully clarify the situation and reassure you.

We have 3 orders from you on record - the first was dispatched same day and the second next day.

The most recent one was placed immediately after the Christmas and New Year break. One of the items you ordered was a special order item - the barred fibbets.

We carry very large stocks of flies and tying materials but for some items we offer a bespoke special order service. This is where we order in especially for customers from the manufacturers. The site clearly shows both against each product and at check out which items are in stock and which are special order. We also give an estimate as to when the goods are expected in at both stages of online purchase.

Unfortunately the supplier of this was not open for a few extra days after the holidays. So as soon as it came in, we dispatched your order to you immediately. I believe it was just 1 day after the estimated timeline.

I hope this explains the situation and goes a way to reassuring you of our commitment to customer service. If you would like to discuss it further please do let us know.

With kind regards
Ann and team at The Essential Fly
Posted 2 years ago
Hello and thank you for your recent orders. I would like to discuss the points you raised and hopefully clarify the situation and reassure you. We have 3 orders from you on record - the first was dispatched same day and the second next day. The most recent one was placed immediately after the Christmas and New Year break. One of the items you ordered was a special order item - the barred fibbets. We carry very large stocks of flies and tying materials but for some items we offer a bespoke special order service. This is where we order in especially for customers from the manufacturers. The site clearly shows both against each product and at check out which items are in stock and which are special order. We also give an estimate as to when the goods are expected in at both stages of online purchase. Unfortunately the supplier of this was not open for a few extra days after the holidays. So as soon as it came in, we dispatched your order to you immediately. I believe it was just 1 day after the estimated timeline. I hope this explains the situation and goes a way to reassuring you of our commitment to customer service. If you would like to discuss it further please do let us know. With kind regards Ann and team at The Essential Fly
Posted 2 years ago
Unable to contact, called number listed and left several messages never received call back. Not yet received merchandise but have received emails asking about enjoying it.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Received the item quickly but the price was much to high especially when I found the same item for sale at third of the price you are charging.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Flies not the best bombers too thin. Constantly pestered with marketing after purchase .
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
The Essential Fly is rated 4.87 based on 1,586 reviews