The Essential Fly Reviews

4.87 Rating 1,586 Reviews
98 %
of reviewers recommend The Essential Fly
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
delivery methods
Postal Service
average delivery time
Next Day
on-time delivery
95%
accurate and undamaged orders
96%
Customer Service
communication channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
queries resolved in
Under an hour
Read The Essential Fly Reviews

About The Essential Fly:

Specialists in Fly Fishing with salmon, trout flies, and flies for lots of other species. We sell Fly Fishing Tackle and gear and a huge range of Fly Tying Materials and Tools - The Essential Fly is a leading supplier of gear for fly fishermen, rainbow & brown trout flies, salmon flies and flies for every species from our massive selection. Fly tying materials and tools to satisfy every fly tyers needs. With tackle from Greys to Wychwood, from fly rods to waders, luggage and all of the accessories you will need.

We have won awards for customer service and believe in value and quality. Check our reviews from thousands of customers all around the world. Having delivered to over 50 countries from homes to fishing lodges for that last minute requirement.

Visit Website

Phone:

01757333003

Email:

directors@theessentialfly.com

Location:

Rowan Lodge35B Bondgate

Robust and good looking flies, even in the smallest sizes, at excellent prices. Well packaged and delivered speedily.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Well. Tryed flys. Quick delivery
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
A little disappointing this time around. Admin problems aside, I found that I had to ring to establish the reason for the delay in my order. I was initially told about the admin issues, then that they were awaiting a stock delivery to complete my order [which had just arrived] and when my order did finally arrive the said item was not included and they apologised and said they would have to issue a refund.. Then I had to ring to chase up the refund and lastly it was a small order and it arrived in a large JIFFY envelope. I was charged the princely sum of £4.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
We are very sorry to hear that you are disappointed. Unfortunately on this occasion we were impacted by a power outage which created a system error. Our entire street had the power turned off for many hours due to an emergency that day. This created delays and challenges for us which meant our usual service levels were not as we would like. Whilst we appreciate this is not what you want to hear, we did our best to catch up on all matters as quickly as we could. We hope this will not deter you from shopping with us again as we would very much like to demonstrate our normal service to you. If there is ever anything we can help you with, please do not hesitate to get in touch.
With best wishes
Team TEF
Posted 2 months ago
Very friendly staff made us most welcome. Combined the visit to the shop with a visit to the abbey which rounded off an enjoyable day. I received an order through the online service very efficiently and promptly. Thank you
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
friendly service and helpful advice, I will be using essential fly again and recommend it to others
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Great guy's to deal with will use again can not fault the service
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Quality flies, competitive prices and excellent service. What else do you need ?
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Everything is excellent from you, many thanks.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Everything was great, as usual.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
very quick delivery of order and received exactly what i ordered .very pleased.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Thank you very much for supplying me with flies which arrive promptly and in good condition. At the moment I am building up my stock of flies for the coming season, but last summer with my first order from Essential Fly, I went out and immediately caught three trout with them, so I was very pleased!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
A speedy service with excellent products.its my go to place for my fly fishing needs.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Fast and efficient service, excellent quality at a reasonable price.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Very good service I ordered coming up to Xmas so they sent e mail just confirming order also telling me that with the postage is always tricky at that time of year my order would be done as soon as possible
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Excellent service, prompt delivery and a wide range of quality products
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Great service I will definitely use you again
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Call me the last of the big spenders if you like but my order was for 6 Griffiths gnats (#18). They arrived within a couple of days, I went to my favourite still water today (11th January) and caught a tiger trout and a rainbow off the surface. Boom!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I have dealt with this company for a year now and found them to be helpful and efficient
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Excellent service as always, no hesitation in recommending to fellow anglers, keep up the good work. From Barry Coman.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Great shop for the fly fisher, went in for one thing came out with loads and even a brew. Great customer service and a massive variety of fly tying materials.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
The Essential Fly is rated 4.87 based on 1,586 reviews