The Essential Fly Reviews

4.87 Rating 1,340 Reviews
98% of reviewers recommend The Essential Fly

About The Essential Fly: Specialists in Fly Fishing with salmon, trout flies, and flies for lots of other species. We sell Fly Fishing Tackle and gear and a huge range of Fly Tying Materials and Tools - The Essential Fly is a leading supplier of gear for fly fishermen, rainbow & brown trout flies, salmon flies and flies for every species from our massive selection. Fly tying materials and tools to satisfy every fly tyers needs. With tackle from Greys to Wychwood, from fly rods to waders, luggage and all of the accessories you will need.

We have won awards for customer service and believe in value and quality. Check our reviews from thousands of customers all around the world. Having delivered to over 50 countries from homes to fishing lodges for that last minute requirement.

Visit Website

Phone:
01757333003

Email:
directors@theessentialfly.com

Location:
Rowan Lodge35B Bondgate

Category:
Sporting Goods

Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions
Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
Postal Service
delivery methods
Next Day
average delivery time
97%
on-time delivery
Greater than 93%
accurate and undamaged orders
Customer Service
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
communication channels
Under an hour
queries resolved in
"The only place to buy top quality fly fishing tackle and fly tying materials at very competitive prices with staff that go the extra mile to give advice if needed over the phone"
Posted 1 month ago
"Good selection of materials and fly patterns, good quality and price."
Posted 1 month ago
"Having difficult sending the right items first time. But the quality of things are fine."
Posted 1 month ago
We are sorry there was a picking error with your order. As soon as you brought this to our attention, we did all we could to remedy this and dispatch the correct pack of hooks to you as quickly as possible.

We sincerely hope all will be well from here.
Thank you
The Essential Fly
Posted 1 month ago
"Took adavantage of the 20% off January sales. placed a large order and couldn’t be happier. Ann and Andy were a pleasure to deal with, from answering general enquiries and offering advice on suitable products. I had to return one item which wasn’t quite what I was looking for and it was all very quick and painless. Overall excellent customer service and top quality products would recommend to any discerning fly fisherman."
Posted 1 month ago
"Excellent service. Quick, and I received exactly what I ordered. Will definitely use your services again."
Posted 1 month ago
"An excellent range of products. Friendly service."
Posted 1 month ago
"Good products.Correct delivery time i recommend best regards"
Posted 1 month ago
"Friendly and helpful staff who are happy to offer advice over the phone. A first-rate service, with goods sent promptly and efficiently."
Posted 2 months ago
"The Flies are of good quality and arrived fastly after order"
Posted 2 months ago
"Great service and well tied flys Prompt delivery will be back for more"
Posted 2 months ago
"My wife and i went for the first time . and we was made to feel very welcome."
Posted 2 months ago
"All the requested items that were available were rapidly delivered and of very high quality. The cost of a single out-of-stock item was refunded immediately. Excellent range of materials for fly tying with great service."
Posted 2 months ago
"Prompt service and goods purchased of high quality. Will use again."
Posted 2 months ago
"Service great trying to renew my password for another order failed so i gave up!!!"
Posted 2 months ago
We are sorry to hear you are having challenges trying to reset your password.
Looking at your account we think we can see what has happened here. You have set up 2 accounts - both the same postal address but with different email addresses. One account has a lot of orders against it and the other just one order. So perhaps there is confusion there for the password reminder?
We will be happy to help you fix this so you can get the products you need as quickly and as easily as possible!
With best wishes
The Essential Fly
Posted 2 months ago
"I like to buy from this company as they are so friendly to deal with. The service is quick and you are not waiting too long for your order."
Posted 2 months ago
"You were slow, other suppliers get my orders to me much quicker"
Posted 2 months ago
Thank you very much for your order and for your feedback here.
I would like to take this opportunity to respond to your point about our time to deliver.

Your order was placed after we and all our suppliers had closed for Christmas. Our suppliers and ourselves did not open again until 2nd January.

We do carry a large amount of stock but we also offer a special order service for customers. This means we order in special items directly for a customers - back to back with the manufacturer. This just takes a few days. It is also shown on the site and at check out, confirming the length of time it takes for these to come in.

Two out of the three items you ordered were special order items. So as soon as the manufacturer was open again after Christmas and the New Year, these were ordered in immediately for you. There is often a back log with our suppliers after a shut down, but I can assure you that your tying materials were dispatched to you as soon as they come in.

I hope this helps explain the situation regarding your order and if we can be of any help to you at all, or if you would like to check on an order or its status, you are welcome to get in touch at any time.


With kind regards

The Essential Fly
Posted 2 months ago
"Really cool. Thanks for sending me some free cotton. Just right for a novice fly there to practice on. Regards Nathan Thomas Edwards"
Posted 2 months ago
"I have purchased various flies on line from The Essential Fly over the last two to three seasons and have always found them to be excellent both for value and service."
Posted 2 months ago
"Very good service and very malleable staff. I skilfully recommendations company and would not hesitate to contact them again"
Posted 2 months ago
"Prompt delivery service and easy to purchase flies online. I have recently purchased a variety of fly selection strips for trout and graylin fishing in the uk. They are extremely well tied and look awesome, I will let you know what results I get when I have tested them out over the coming weeks."
Posted 2 months ago
The Essential Fly is rated 4.87 based on 1,340 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support