The Essential Fly Reviews

4.86 Rating 1,404 Reviews
98% of reviewers recommend The Essential Fly

About The Essential Fly: Specialists in Fly Fishing with salmon, trout flies, and flies for lots of other species. We sell Fly Fishing Tackle and gear and a huge range of Fly Tying Materials and Tools - The Essential Fly is a leading supplier of gear for fly fishermen, rainbow & brown trout flies, salmon flies and flies for every species from our massive selection. Fly tying materials and tools to satisfy every fly tyers needs. With tackle from Greys to Wychwood, from fly rods to waders, luggage and all of the accessories you will need.

We have won awards for customer service and believe in value and quality. Check our reviews from thousands of customers all around the world. Having delivered to over 50 countries from homes to fishing lodges for that last minute requirement.

Visit Website

Phone:
01757333003

Email:
directors@theessentialfly.com

Location:
Rowan Lodge35B Bondgate

Category:
Sporting Goods

Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions
Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
delivery methods
Postal Service
average delivery time
Next Day
on-time delivery
95%
accurate and undamaged orders
95%
Customer Service
communication channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
queries resolved in
Under an hour
"very prompt delivery. well packaged. exactly as described. trod my new fly rod out on the Tiny River Crane last night 4 beautiful wild brownies.fantastic rod"
Posted 4 months ago
"Very rapid delivery excellent service products conformed to those appearing on the web site thanks"
Posted 4 months ago
"Essential fly always deliver on quality and time. Value for money all the way. Great service."
Posted 4 months ago
"Although there was a problem with the order/ delivery I have to say that once I contacted customer services Sarah delivered the best costumer service I have ever received. She was helpful, interested and went the extra mile. Sorry don’t know her surname but if you have a employee of the month award it should go to Sarah. When the product did arrive it was perfect."
Posted 4 months ago
"Prompt service with deliveries made very quickly accompanied by excellent advice on all subjects, fly tying materials and tackle for exotic fishing (in this case tiger fishing in Africa)."
Posted 4 months ago
"Flies arrived as ordered and full refund for some out of stock."
Posted 4 months ago
"The level of customer service is just superb every time. Nothing is too much trouble, and the quality of fly tying materials available is always excellent. Orders are promptly despatched, and are competitively priced. Essential Fly should be the 'one stop shop' for all fly tyers. Tony Freeman (Nidderdale A.C.)"
Posted 4 months ago
"All the gear I ordered was delivered quickly and is now doing sterling service"
Posted 4 months ago
"Top quality flies at excellent prices. Really good value and quick delivery. Good choice of barbless patterns - ideal for c&r."
Posted 4 months ago
"Have always found them helpful and knowledgeable when ever I have contacted them and items are sent out quickly so you can use them as soon as possible. Have use for many years and will continue to do so."
Posted 4 months ago
"Everything delivered as ordered. Very prompt and efficient service. Will definitely use them again."
Posted 4 months ago
"I have just received my pack of sandys assasins emergers and they look fantastic i have yet to try them but if they are anywhere near as good as sandys blank buster buzzers i will be more than happy.The essential fly is the place to go for all your flies and fly tying with great service and quality products fantastic you wont be disappointed take a look at this beauty i nailed on a buzzer a week ago early april tight lines."
Posted 4 months ago
"Quality goods, Quality service"
Posted 4 months ago
"Extremely knowledgeable helpful and customer friendly"
Posted 4 months ago
"did not supply one of the items ordered and did not offer an alternative"
Posted 4 months ago
Thank you very much for your recent order. We are sorry that one of the packs of hooks was not available. These hooks were part of a range of hooks we were special ordering for you as shown on the site ie they were not in stock items. Unfortunately the distributor of these Fulling Mill hooks were out of stock of them too so we were very limited in our options for you for this pack. We do carry large stocks of tying materials and hooks but for certain ranges/sizes we order them in especially for customers. We rely on our suppliers to get the goods to us in a timely manner but unfortunately on this occasion one of the sets were not available. If there is anything we can help you with please do let us know.
With very best wishes
Team Essential Fly
Posted 4 months ago
"Regrettably most of what I wanted (grey mayflies to match our hatch) were out of stock (why??) and I had to make do with variations. Then having placed my order I was subsequently advised that you could only supple 1 Empheria bundle. Yes I was refunded but your flies are not cheap and having spent £40+ I have not really got what I wanted."
Posted 4 months ago
Hello and thank you for your recent order. We are very sorry that one of the Mayfly Collections was not available for you. With the start of the season, even though we manufactured great volumes of flies in preparation, we have received much higher than anticipated order volumes and our mayflies have been extremely popular. We are of course doing all we can to bring the stocks back up but as we manufacture our flies in thousands at a time, this can take a little time.
We are pleased to see that all your remaining flies were shipped to you and hope that these are to your satisfaction.
If we can help you with anything at any time please do not hesitate to get in touch.
With best wishes
Team Essential Fly
Posted 4 months ago
"I was a little surprised to have to wait a week for a packet of replacement hooks but the apology and gift (dubbing materials) made up for it. You showed understanding and empathy."
Posted 4 months ago
"All top notch quality materials and excellant service. Many items that are very hard to find in the USA."
Posted 4 months ago
"Fantastic product,and first class service,pleasure to deal with."
Posted 4 months ago
"Super. Many thanks for the gift."
Posted 4 months ago
The Essential Fly is rated 4.86 based on 1,404 reviews